Slow Cooker Steel Cut Oatmeal

tmtt

This is my first time participating in Tempt My Tummy Tuesday. I tried this recipe this morning after reading about the health benefits of steel cut oatmeal, then breaking down and buying some. I used Bob’s Red Mill brand.

Crockpot Steel Cut Oatmeal

Steel cut oatmeal is chunkier and heartier than oatmeal made with instant or rolled oats, because steel cut oats are less processed than rolled oats. Steel cut oats are the best oats for making Crockpot oatmeal. Rolled oats get mushy in the Crockpot, but steel cut oatmeal can withstand the longer cooking time without breaking down. Steel cut oatmeal is also sometimes called Irish oatmeal or Scottish oatmeal. McCann’s and Quaker both make steel cut oatmeal that’s available in most supermarkets.

Prep Time: 5 minutes

Cook Time: 8 hours

Ingredients:

* 2 cups steel cut oatmeal (also called Irish oats or Scottish oats — not rolled oats)

* 5 cups water

* 1-1/2 cups milk

* 3/4 cup brown sugar

* 1 Tbsp. cinnamon

* 1 tsp. kosher salt

* 2 large bananas, sliced

* 1 cup chopped pecans

* maple syrup for drizzling

Preparation:

1. Spray Crockpot stoneware with cooking spray.

2. Place oats, water, milk, brown sugar, cinnamon and salt in the Crockpot. Cover and cook on low 8-10 hours.

3. Just before serving, stir in bananas and pecans. Drizzle with maple syrup if desired.

Reviews: I liked it. Instead of adding bananas and pecans, I added frozen wild blueberries, a drizzle of maple syrup and walnuts. Big Sis DIDN’T like it. Too creamy…it was a texture thing, I guess. She didn’t add anything except a splash of skim milk. Little Sis had hers with frozen blueberries and maple syrup, and loved it. She can’t wait to try it with bananas. Good thing! We have plenty of leftovers…about 4 cups! I wish I could share with my mom, but she’s not allowed whole grains on her renal diet.

For more great recipes, stop by this week’s Tempt My Tummy Tuesday.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Recipes, Tempt My Tummy Tuesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Slow Cooker Steel Cut Oatmeal

  1. samantha says:

    Sounds so good, I would have to add blueberries ! Thanks so much for sharing, have a blessed Tuesday !

  2. angela says:

    sounds great I have never heard of it before but plan on trying it

  3. First of all, welcome to Tempt My Tummy Tuesday. I am so glad you found us and joined. Thanks for the explanation regarding rolled versus steel cup oats. I was wondering. Sounds good. My daughter really likes oatmeal. I hope you will join us again.

  4. Pam says:

    Wow! I didn’t know you could make oatmeal in a crock pot. I’ll have to try this.

  5. Jerri says:

    It sounds yummy. I’ve never had oatmeal cooked in the crockpot.

  6. Brenda says:

    I’ve seen this recipe before and I should really try it because we love steel cut oats.

  7. Did you get this out of a WW slow cooker recipe book? I’ve been thinking about trying it for a while. Thanks for the review!~

  8. Tara R. says:

    Thank YOU! I’ve been looking for a recipe just like this. I will be trying it too. I have to see if I have all the ingredients.

  9. Pingback: WFMW: My favorite breakfast « Sandwiched

  10. Pingback: Another fresh start « …So Help Me, God!

Leave a comment