Help! My dryer’s done.

The heat on our dryer went out last night. That’s the bad news.

The good news was that it happened on Mr. Hoagie’s wet shirts, so I didn’t need to spend four days convincing him that the dryer really was broken, and it wasn’t just “user error.” (Sometimes it’s really rough being married to an engineer.)

The good news? We managed to get a repairman in today.

Bad news? I’ve been waiting since 8:00 am. He showed up at 3:00 pm.

More bad news? He wanted $321 to fix it. We’ve paid twice that in repairs over the last 8 years.

Still more bad news? It’ll take 10 days to get the parts in. Ten days without a dryer.

Called Mr. Hoagie at work to fill him in. Passed him off to the repairman when he had questions (he’s gotta hear it from the horse’s mouth or he cross-examines ME).

We were on the fence over whether to repair or replace. Ten days until repair put it over the top for me.

So…who out there has a clothes dryer they’re happy with? We have a $65 off coupon at Sears.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Help! My dryer’s done.

  1. Lesley says:

    Saw your post on Twitter…I’ve had a few different dryers. None too exciting, but functional. I most recently had the most basic Kenmore (I think…one of the Sears brands) that were stackable…the full-sized one. I loved it…but, I always get a Sears warranty on it. About $120 a year. You can add it ANYTIME…after you add the warranty, you just have to wait 30 days before a service. Even if your dryer isn’t broken, they will do an annual maintenance service visit. I had mine rebuilt once (would have been $800)…I need to buy a new one for my new space (the old one here doesn’t work)…I’m just looking for a basic stackable (so I can have a countertop of top of it) with no real fancy features…I’m in Denver and will probably buy from the Sears Outlet.
    Sorry for the long post!!
    Lesley

Leave a Reply

