Summer’s catching up to me

Summer’s catching up to me.

Life never really did slow down all that much after school let out. Maybe from 100 mph down to 70 mph.

You can tell by looking at my house. Disaster. I haven’t been enforcing chores much this summer, and it shows.

And over the weekend, we started stripping the wallpaper in the basement. Like we needed another project (though I do feel better that it’s started).

This week is a pretty quiet one, luckily. Today my goal is to clean my kitchen (including the fridge…ugh) and do as much laundry as humanly possible. I also need to grocery shop this week, probably twice.

I feel terrible, because I’ve been buying fresh food the last couple of weeks, and a lot of it had gone bad. Tossed out grape tomatoes, a moldy hamburger, frozen watermelon, sticky deli ham, moldy swiss cheese…and I think the turkey brats from two weeks ago look questionable.

Luckily, Mom has been in good health and good spirits. I think the Paula Deen autographed tee shirt helped! Also, we did take her to her favorite Mexican restaurant for lunch yesterday.

On top of all this, Big Sis needs to have her tooth pulled. We tried about a week and a half ago, but she wouldn’t have it. We’re scheduled to try again Wednesday, but if it doesn’t happen, we’ll need to take her to a pediatric dentist who can put her under.

In the blink of an eye, school’s gonna start up again….

Maybe it’s time to jump back in with Flylady!

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Sandwich Generation and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer’s catching up to me

  1. Elizabeth says:

    I feel the same way, and most people I’ve spoken with do as well. I don’t know what it’s been about this summer, but it’s been intense.

  2. Don’t feel like your alone it is like swoosh, summer is over! I do not think it is possible to stay clean and organized when kids are home.
    I love your pom-pom/puff balls idea although I do not think my boys would be to fond of it. Such a cute idea for girls and little ones. I wonder what they are planning to do with all of them?

Leave a comment