Review: Rubbermaid Reveal Mop

Works for Me Wednesday

I’ve always really kinda hated mopping. Which meant that it hardly ever got done. I always seemed to be stuck with a nasty, germ-riddled  sponge mop. If it was the deluxe model, it had a scrubber pad on one side! I had to sweep first, then I had to pull out a bucket, or fill my kitchen sink with hot water and Pine-Sol. In other words, I had to clear my calendar for half a day to clean my floors “right.”

Then came microfiber, which cleaned great. I got the sponge mop topped with a layer of microfiber, but it began to peel off the sponge as soon as it touched the hot water. I went through mop heads like crazy!

I tried switching over to disposable mops, but the refills were a pain, and the solution got my floor—get this— TOO clean. I have stripes on the floor in one spot because the solution cut through ALL the layers of grime, but just in the one spot. Random.

Then I tried a steam mop, which worked wonders! Hot water (no nasty chemicals…yay!) and an amazing microfiber cloth. I was in love. What could go wrong? Just enough, apparently. After just a couple of months, the mop’s heating element conked out. No steam meant it was just a microfiber cloth on a stick. Pathetic.

Enter the Rubbermaid Reveal Mop. *Cue the choirs of angels*

Rubbermaid Reveal Mop

Go get one of these now!

It has the same basic design as the disposable mops, but boasts a machine washable, reusable microfiber pad, and a refillable bottle that you can fill with a solution of your choice. I use vinegar and water, which does a nice job on my vinyl floors, and is nontoxic to my kids and my pets. Most importantly, it is sturdy and well-built, like my other Rubbermaid products. I’ve used it for over six months without any problems, which I think is a record for my mops!

I usually TRY to sweep before I mop, but sometimes it just doesn’t happen. With the Reveal mop, it’s not a problem. Just use it to “sweep” the debris into a pile as you mop, and pick it up with a paper towel or Clorox wipe.

My kids love to use it, too! And with the vinegar solution, I don’t have to worry about the kids using it without close supervision, even if they do squirt the dog…by “accident.”

With the lovely flat, swiveling head, and lightweight design, it’s even easy to mop in small, crowded spaces…like my bathrooms.

If you want or need to use two or more different solutions, just buy a second bottle and you can use them interchangeably. The mop head velcroes on and off with the handy pull tab, and can be tossed in the laundry (line dry from the handy tab) without hardly touching it. (There’s also a dry dust mop head, but I don’t have it.)

Organize with Sandy did a review of this mop as well; her video is below:

I love this thing. In the time it would take me to find a clean, empty bucket in my house, I can have my floors shining. And for the record, I did not receive any compensation for this review. I’m just a very happy paying customer.

For more great ideas, check out Works for Me Wednesday at We Are THAT Family!

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Review: Rubbermaid Reveal Mop

  1. Caitlin says:

    Thank you so much for this review! I HATE HATE HATE mopping and have yet to find an easy and effective way to get my floors clean so I’m definitely going to try this.

    • Caitlin says:

      Update – I bought the mop this weekend and tried it out for the first time today…AMAZING!!! Seriously, thank you so much for this review. I never would have tried it before reading what you had to say and I am so glad that I did. It was a trillion times easier than any other method I’ve used.

      • Sandwiched says:

        Yay! Another convert. Those Rubbermaid people do good work, huh? Just used mine on the kitchen floor an hour ago. 🙂

        Thanks for the update…happy mopping!!

  2. Melissa says:

    I’m with you: I strongly dislike (regular) mopping, but I love my Rubbermaid Reveal Mop! I appreciate that I don’t have to empty the laundry sink to fill a bucket, deal with dripping every time I wring out the mop, wait for the floor to dry, try to carry a sloshing bucket from the bathroom to the laundry room without spilling. Yes, the Reveal mop solves just about every problem with mopping.

    I’ve been using a very dilute solution of Mr. Clean, but vinegar sounds like a good idea. How much vinegar do you add to the water in the Reveal bottle?

    • Sandwiched says:

      I usually use around 1/4 of the bottle to 3/4 hot water; a little more if my floors need a GOOD cleaning. Last week I spilled the bottle of vinegar on my floor as I was refilling the bottle, so my floor got EXTRA SUPER clean that day!

      • Melissa says:

        Thanks! If the floor got extra super clean, does that mean you got to skip the next mopping? 😉

  3. Pingback: I gotta new way to mop, mop, mop… | Chocolate Moments

  4. Pingback: WFMW: Smelly laundry fix | Sandwiched

  5. Tiffany says:

    Bought a steam mop too and within the year it broke. Now I’m stuck w $99.00 useless mop

Leave a Reply

