The beginning of the end

As I write this, it’s late. Mom would tell me to go to bed.

My sister came in for a visit over the weekend. Mom was waiting for her.

We had a great weekend. My sister spent all day Saturday with Mom.

On Sunday, we did an early Easter celebration. My sister found one of my mom’s old recipes for an egg casserole, so she made that with a lovely fruit salad and asparagus. Mom colored Easter eggs with the girls.

Afterwards, she was very tired, and got right into bed.

Monday, we stopped over to see Mom before lunch. We figured she’d head down to the dining room, but no such luck. She wasn’t feeling up to it.

So my sister and I told her that we’d go run an errand, and come right back. I’d been dragging my feet on making funeral arrangements, but bolstered by each other’s presence, we vowed to do it together.

Less than an hour later, we were back. We told Mom that everything was taken care of for the funeral. She was tired, but alert. We passed the afternoon paying Mom’s bills and changing her address, all while laughing and talking.

We left Mom to get the kids off the school bus, and took them to shop for dresses. My sister recently got engaged, and we were sorely in need of a girls’ night out.

Surprisingly, my sister found the perfect dress, and bought it on the spot. The girls tried on dress after dress, arguing over color and style. Missing Mom like crazy, we stopped at Mad Mex for dinner, and ordered margaritas.

We couldn’t even finish the “Little Butt” size. It wasn’t right, without Mom.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The beginning of the end

  1. Maria says:

    Kath,
    You write so beautifully, honestly, and with feeling. I am blessed to have a friend who is so talented and sharing.
    You’re doing great – you will make it through this to the new normal with your usual grace and good humor.
    Love you –
    m

  2. Pingback: A(nother) fresh start « …So Help Me, God!

Leave a Reply

