Assisted living and hospice

What a difference a month makes.

So, as of my last post,  Mom was diagnosed with a blood clot (we found out several weeks later that it was actually TWO clots). She stayed in the hospital for another ten days. During the course of that stay, the doctors let us know that Mom really shouldn’t be there. She should have been at home, on hospice.

So…she got discharged. I was hoping to get her into an assisted living unit by the time she was discharged, but no such luck. She came home to her old apartment for about four days, then she signed up for hospice, fell that afternoon (no injuries), and moved into her assisted living apartment the next day.

It was quite a whirlwind.

I was very thoroughly blessed by my friends that week. I sent out an email on Wednesday explaining that I needed help packing and moving Mom by Friday. Somehow, I got help…just enough, and just at the right times! Two neighbors came over Wednesday evening; one was an RN who helped sort Mom’s meds. Thursday I got help from two more Girl Scout leader friends; they packed Mom’s kitchen. Friday, the day of the move, I got help from friends who I met through Mr. Hoagie’s work.

I can’t tell you how grateful I am to God for sending everyone!!

And Mom got into assisted living not a MOMENT too soon. She really needs every bit of extra help. She stays in bed most of the time, except for meals, because she is so swollen (due to the blood clots and possibly because the lung cancer tumor is putting pressure on her blood vessels). She’s also on oxygen.

It’s been pretty smooth sailing ever since. I’m taking my time with all the paperwork and change-of-address stuff. I get over there 3-4 times a week. It’s so good not to have to worry myself sick that she’s on the floor just because she hasn’t answered her phone.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Sandwich Generation, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Assisted living and hospice

  1. So glad you are back. So sorry to hear about everything you , mom and your family have been through! Take a break for yourself this weekend! 🙂

  2. Natalia says:

    Oh I’ve been thinking about you!!! I’m glad that your mom is someplace safe and being taken care of. That must be such a relief for you!

  3. Sandwiched says:

    It really is a relief. She’s declining, but the staff is handling her with such love, grace, and respect, that I couldn’t ask for anything more. I can go back to being a good daughter.

    Also, my sister is in town this weekend. Such a blessing! Today, we’re going to plan Mom’s funeral. 😦 But then we’re going to shop for wedding dresses this afternoon with my girls!

  4. Natalia says:

    It sounds weird to say that I’m happy for you and your mom, but I am. I mean to have someone taking such good care of her and you being able to be her daughter and not her care taker really has to be a relief to you AND her.

    It’s great that your sister is in town and that you are planning the funeral now.

    Have fun shopping for wedding dresses!

    Hugs!

Leave a Reply

