WFMW: My favorite travel mug

I was browsing teh interwebz this morning and found that my partner in crime posted a review of her favorite travel mug. At which point, I’m all, “WHAT?!? That is SO incorrect. The world needs to know about MY favorite travel mug!”

I love this travel mug made by OXO. The beauty of it, aside from the sheer beauty of it, is that it really is spillproof. The lid clicks open when you drink, and clicks shut when you’re not drinking. They’re carried by both Amazon and Target (I don’t get anything from these links, just love this product!).

When I got this mug a few years ago, the kids would fight over who got to borrow it. So last year, they each got their own for Christmas. They’ve aged out of sippy cups, so these are perfect for car trips and drinking hot chocolate during movie night.

Some of the Amazon reviews mentioned that it doesn’t keep your beverage hot that long, but mine keep my beverages hot enough long enough for me.

Another complaint on Amazon is that they are too hard to clean. The enclosed instructions say to hand-wash only, probably to preserve the rubber seal that keeps the mug spill-proof. I always wash mine in the dishwasher, though, and have never had a problem in over two years. I simply separate the mug from the lid, and set the lid to the open position, bottom facing up, in the top rack of the dishwasher. Hey, if I have a choice between drinking from an unclean mug or a leaky one, I’ll take leaky. But like I said…two years of washing it in the dishwasher, and it still doesn’t leak!

I love these mugs so much that not only does my entire family of four own one, but I give them as gifts, usually stuffed with a beverage option like a coffee shop gift card or, like I did for teacher gifts this year, with Penzey’s hot chocolate mix (the Hint of Mint will change your LIFE!).

My kids have a snow day, so I have a feeling we’ll be using both the mugs AND the hot chocolate mix today!

For more great ideas, check out Works for Me Wednesday at We Are THAT Family.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Works for Me Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to WFMW: My favorite travel mug

  1. ellebee says:

    I think the gods of your travel mug are conspiring against me. This morning, MY favorite travel mug FAILED. Okay, so maybe it was user error, but my center console ended up dripping. Clearly it was a sign.

  2. ellebee says:

    Oh, and Penzey’s is da bomb! I could spend hours (and lots of dollars) in the little store in Naperville!

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention WFMW: My favorite travel mug | Sandwiched -- Topsy.com

  4. Sandwiched says:

    Obviously a sign. Told you mine was better. 😉

    I adore Penzey’s. They have a shop here in Pittsburgh in the Strip District. I can do some DAMAGE there. By the way, their Pumpkin Pie Spice is AMAZING on oatmeal!

  5. Pingback: WFMW: Admission | Musings of a Working Diva

Leave a Reply

