Mom’s empty apartment

Mom has been in a local nursing home for three days now. Yesterday I stopped over at Mom’s empty apartment. She needed me to do a few things for her: deposit some checks, pay the bills, check her mail. When I got there, I also found three loads of laundry that needed to be done, a fridge that needed to be cleaned out and a bathroom that needed cleaning.

I hadn’t been planning to spend the afternoon, but I started the laundry (in two separate laundry rooms on two different floors) and got to work on the rest of the list.

In my travels through the building, I stopped at the main office to give them the update on Mom. They wanted to know if Mom wanted to be moved to their skilled nursing facility (a half-hour away on a different campus) when a bed opened up.

I’ll check, I replied.

Also, the campus director reminded me that they still had a studio apartment available in assisted living. We’d turned it down once, but that was before Mom’s last two hospitalizatons.

I was more than ready to take it, but I knew Mom wasn’t ready to move—OR to spend the extra money.

She suggested that perhaps we use it as “respite:” Mom could stay there for a month after she returned from the nursing home, and then move back to her independent apartment when she was stronger.

Interesting, I said. It sounded like a good option to me. I’ll run it past everyone, I replied.

I left the office feeling hopeful that maybe my life could get back to some version of normal….

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Sandwich Generation and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mom’s empty apartment

  1. Tangled Zen says:

    It sounds like the facility your mom’s apartment is in right now is really flexible – how wonderful! It would be nice for her to be around people she knows. Sounds like a really good solution to what’s happening right now. I just read your post “Unsettled ” and can’t blame you for feeling that way. Hope this new solution works out for both you and your mom – good luck!

Leave a Reply

