App-propriate

I love my iPod Touch. I picked it up at Sam’s Club about a year and a half ago. It was partly to reward myself for dealing with Mom’s illnesses, and partly to help me deal with the craziness of my schedule, between Mom’s doctors’ appointments, the kids’ activities and trying to maintain a life for myself.

I recently stopped into the Apple Store on Michigan Avenue in Chicago while visiting the city with friends. My battery hadn’t been holding a charge, so I was hoping they could replace it. To make a long story short, they didn’t replace the battery, but instead the whole unit! Thanks, Apple!

In updating the new unit, I took the opportunity to weed out some of the apps I wasn’t using. The beauty of the iPod Touch really shines when you pick the right apps. Here are a list of my favorites:

  1. Calendar (iCal): This was the number one reason I decided to purchase the iPod Touch. It was too tough to schedule Mom’s doctors’ appointments on the go while trying to remember what was on my color-coded calendar hanging on the fridge. I added the Mobile Me service, and for $99 per year, it sends all my calendar, email and contacts data into some cloud and updates it for me, so that I always have the most updated information on whichever device I’m looking at. Brilliant.
  2. Facebook: Yes, I’m an addict. Nice to have the object of my affection at my fingertips.
  3. Contacts: I try to make sure I have all of Mom’s docs listed in here. That way, when we’re running late, I can call the office and let them know.
  4. CareConnector: This free app is put out by Johnson and Johnson. It’s been really great to use with Mom. There’s a place to input all of her medications (very useful on those unexpected ER trips), plus things like her insurance information and blood type. There’s also a journal, which seems a lot like a blog-type format, that will let you input any notes or even a photo. I’ve only used it once, but it seems like it might be helpful during one of Mom’s complicated hospitalizations. At the moment, I’m only using the app for Mom, but there’s space to add my info, plus my kids’ and Mr. Hoagie’s. Which would probably be a good idea, since Mr. Hoagie is on a medication for which I can’t remember the name or dosage. Hmmm.
  5. Kindle: I’m a VORACIOUS reader, and I love the Kindle that Mr. Hoagie got me for my birthday in May. I was also dumb enough to attempt a Bible in 90 Days challenge (read about it on my other blog) that started in July. Anyway, this app lets me read the Bible even if I’m away from my Kindle, and the next time I pick up my Kindle, it will sync to the spot where I left off. Genius!
  6. DoodleBuddy: This little app brought me hours of peace when I let Little Sis play with it while waiting at many doctors’ offices. Forget packing crayons and coloring books; this app is the whole kit and kaboodle right on my iPod.
  7. Diner Dash: Okay, this game was my own personal addiction for quite a while. It’s been called a time-management game, and I daresay it taught me a thing or two about managing the little time I did have. Great for stress relief.
  8. Doodle Jump: Another fun little game to pass the time while waiting for the doc. You tilt the iPod Touch to control your little bouncy guy and try to get him to bounce higher to get a better score. Addictive!
  9. Tiki Premium: This one holds the attention of my 9-year-old. The aim is to remove blocks from underneath a Tiki block (kinda like the one in those episodes of the Brady Bunch) without letting it fall on the ground. It takes some brain power!

I acquired a lot of my apps for free after seeing them listed as free on the site dealnews.com. It’s nice to get them gratis, especially if they’re just to entertain your squirrelly kids.

Also love the ability to watch videos on the iPod Touch. Phineas and Ferb sure was great to entertain my kids while they waited patiently at the cancer clinic.

What apps do you love? Any that I need to try?

This post is linked to Works for Me Wednesday, hosted by We Are THAT Family.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Works for Me Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to App-propriate

  1. tangled zen says:

    I would love an iPod Touch or iPad but fear it would become such an addiction I’d never get to the few things it seems I do in a day! My cellphone doesn’t even have texting ability!! Sounds like lots of fun though.

Leave a Reply

