Night Owl

I’m up way too late again.

It’s almost 2:00 am. My kids will be up in five hours. Mr. Hoagie will be up in four.

It’s so hard to give it up, though. The peace.

After everyone’s asleep, I can be me. Not “Mommy.” Not Mom’s caretaker. Just…me.

I’ve gotten enough of a break this past week since school started that I can kind of remember what my dreams used to be.

They give me hope.

And I’m not ready to give them up…not for the night, not for a moment longer.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Night Owl

  1. Maria says:

    Did you at least get SOME sleep? 🙂
    I’d have stayed up with you to hear your dreams … miss you

  2. Sandwiched says:

    Awww. Miss you too.

    I did get some sleep, but I’d better get to bed on time tonight!

  3. tangled zen says:

    I’m the same way – up into the wee hours when I should be sleeping. I love the peace.

Leave a Reply

