WFMW: Beach Vacation Photography

I’m back from a much-needed vacation. There’s much more I could say about that…like WHY it was so badly needed or a play-by-play of the trip, or reviews of the great concert we saw, or the wonderful places we stayed…

But today is Works for Me Wednesday, so here’s something that worked for me not only on this trip to Virginia Beach, but on two previous trips to Ocean City, Maryland: Telescope Pictures.

Picture this: you’re relaxing on the beach. Maybe you’re on a beach chair with your toes in the sand and the surf gently lapping at them while you happily flip through a stack of your favorite magazines. Maybe your husband and youngest daughter are boogie boarding in the water while your oldest is complaining loudly and repeatedly about how she hates the beach and wants to go home to her dog digging contentedly in the sand.

Enter stage left: a handsome college age boy in blue swim trunks with the word “SCOPES” emblazoned across the seat. He jogs over, bearing a camera bag and a winning smile as he asks you if you’ve had your picture taken yet.

Why, no…do you really think I could be a MODEL?

No wait…it’s the COLLECTIVE “you” (aka “yinz” here in Pittsburgh) he speaks of…meaning, my entire FAMILY.

Oh…well, that’s okay too.

Within five minutes he has collected all four of us on the sand (after offering to actually GO IN after Mr. Hoagie and Little Sis), and has taken THIRTY-FIVE photos of us. The dude was amazing (Thanks, Cody! Nice work.). And the best part is, I got to be IN some of the pictures!

He gives me a card with the studio location, I give him a $10 deposit, and the photos were ready that evening. We stopped into the studio, picked out our favorites, had them printed, and I even got a little wild, ordering the CD of all 35 shots so I could share them here with you. I got ten sheets plus the CD for under $100.

Since I was so wiped out that I had little time nor energy to even plan this trip, let alone document it in photos, I was grateful for the help.

For more great ideas, check out Works for Me Wednesday at We Are THAT Family.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Uncategorized, Works for Me Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WFMW: Beach Vacation Photography

  1. ElleBee says:

    Oh my, that is SO cool! Love all the photos and that price is an absolute steal! It’s nice when you can have vacay photos with the ENTIRE family actually IN the photos, instead of one person (usually Mom) behind the camera! Glad you had such a good time; you totally deserve it!

  2. PartlySunny says:

    That was definitely worth the money. The only time I’m in pictures is when my friend and I take pictures for each other at our kids’ birthday parties (we’ve figured this out so that it actually looks like we’re there, and then our kids won’t assume we’d cut out on their entire childhoods when they look back at pictures). Downsides of being the family photographer.

Leave a Reply

