WFMW: Keeping Mom in Milk

One of my regular tasks is grocery shipping for Mom. I used to buy a lot, but the food spoils before she gets around to preparing it.

One of the things she still needs, though, is milk. Now, on her renal failure diet, she’s not suppode to have much milk, but she still uses it on the occasional (okay, DAILY…don’t tell her dietician!) bowl of cereal.

A quart of milk is not enough to last until the next time I get to the store. A half-gallon is too much…it spoils before she can use it all.

What am I to do so that I don’t have to play the milkman and deliver milk at the drop of a hat?

Enter Horizon Organic Reduced Fat Milk. I buy a package of 18 “juice boxes” of milk. Mom keeps them in her pantry, and refrigerates 3 or 4 at a time. That way, when the half gallon goes bad, I don’t have to drop what I’m doing to deliver Mom fresh milk.

At my local grocery store, a package of 18 is about $14.

It buys me time and sanity, which totally works for me.

For more great ideas, check out Works For Me Wednesday at We Are THAT Family!

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Works for Me Wednesday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WFMW: Keeping Mom in Milk

  1. Katey says:

    great idea!! I too shop for mom….weekly but I am in town alot so it’s okay unless it is after youth group and I have a bunch of kids…

Leave a Reply

