Tax time! And a tumble.

Mom fell again yesterday.

Turns out she forgot to eat. And at 4:00 pm yesterday, she was getting something from her bedroom, turned to leave, and lost her balance. Boom.

She hit the button on her emergency pendant, and a nurse came by to scoop her up off the floor.

Then she called me, and I missed the call. I saw there was a message, but didn’t have a moment to retrive it because I was babysitting the neighbor kids. I didn’t know until she called back an hour later.

And then she threw in that she needs to deliver her tax paperwork to her tax preparer, whose office is an hour away. She wants me to pick her up, drive her to deliver the paperwork, walk the paperwork in, take her to lunch (not explicit, but it’s how we roll), and drive her home. In between picking up kids.

I’m so tired of dropping everything on my list to do the things on her list. Doctors’ appointments are one thing, but taxes?

And then she threw in that she’d sold some stocks and needed to know the original purchase price. Like I might offer to research it for her.

Ummm…no. I don’t even do my own taxes or even balance my own checkbook. (And no, I’m not proud of that….)

And this weekend, I’m driving back to Chicago, sans family, for my dad’s 80th birthday. Haven’t finished getting ready for that, either.

So I told my mom that I’d be willing to photocopy and overnight her tax docs for her, but I was not keen on losing half a day to dropping off her taxes. If I have to drive them, I’d either have to do it today, or next Monday. I already lost Monday this week to Mom’s OB/GYN appointment and Tuesday to babysitting the neighbor kids. I can’t really afford to lose today.

Oh, and I completely FORGOT to take Little Sis to her dance class last night after Mom’s phonecall. Terrific.

In the meantime, my house is trashed. Laundry has piled up; I have nothing to dress the kids or myself in. I usually go to the gym this time of the day, but I was too stressed to go for stress relief. Stupid, huh?

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

