An open love letter to the boss of my mom’s aide

My name is Sandwiched, and my mom is a resident in the senior apartments at the North campus. I’ve heard rumblings in the last few days that my mom’s all-time favorite aide, J, may no longer be with the nursing program. I’m hoping it’s just a vicious rumor.

My mom was one of the first people to sign up for the community nursing program, and it has been a huge help to her, and to me. Before that program, either I would have to be on hand to help Mom out (several times a week, while trying to juggle a job and a young family of my own), or for a while she had hired some help from Home Instead. They hardly ever sent the same person twice, so we’d have to keep getting the new people up to speed on Mom’s needs.

The community nursing program started, and it was quite literally a Godsend: complete with Mom’s very own angel, J. If at all possible, J took better care of my Mom than my sister and I did. My sister and I would always end up getting annoyed with Mom, or getting into a typical mother-daughter spat. Not with J…she and my mom would spend the entire time giggling like schoolgirls.

For years before she moved into the building, doctors had been trying to get that woman to exercise. It never happened. At least, not until J started doing an exercise class for the residents. It was a blast! Mom attended faithfully for a good long while…well, longer than anyone else had ever gotten her to exercise, anyway.

Whenever I had to leave town, I felt at peace knowing that J would check in on her while I was gone, whether she was on-duty or not. If my sister or I couldn’t be watching out for her, J was like the third sister we never had. We knew she had Mom’s back.

Sadly, J’s schedule changed, and Mom was taken off J’s rotation. But she still continued to come by and check on her whenever she could. In the meantime, another aide was assigned. She handles the basics, but she’s no J…and to top it off, whenever the new aide does Mom’s laundry (weekly), she never dries it completely. Just brings it back wet and lays it all over Mom’s apartment to dry.

J is a wonderful representative for your company, and I’m hoping you’d never let an employee of her caliber leave without a fight. She’s like family to us…I’m hoping you’ll treat her as an important part of yours.

Thank you for your time,

Sandwiched

UPDATE: J had quit over being denied a benefit she had been promised. As I wrote the letter on her behalf, they made her an offer to come back, and she accepted. Yay!

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Sandwich Generation, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An open love letter to the boss of my mom’s aide

  1. Dana says:

    I am glad that everything worked out for everyone.

  2. That’s great that she came back! Did she get reassigned to your mom?

Leave a Reply

