WFMW: Getting rid of fruit flies

wfmw

Here’s a relatively painless way to get rid of fruit flies in your kitchen:

  1. Fill a small container with apple cider vinegar.
  2. Cover container with clear plastic wrap.
  3. Poke a few small holes in the plastic wrap.
  4. Wait for the fruit flies to become trapped and drown.
  5. Empty and repeat as necessary.

The fruit flies find their way in, but can’t get out. It also helps if you make sure your kitchen is free of any sticky, fruity spills.

For more great ideas, check out this week’s Works for Me Wednesday; it’s a themed cleaning edition!

You catch more FRUIT flies with vinegar!

You catch more FRUIT flies with vinegar!

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Sandwich Generation, Works for Me Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to WFMW: Getting rid of fruit flies

  1. Michelle says:

    I just did this a few days ago! Works like a charm.

  2. frauenzeit says:

    super, thanks … as they are nearly eating me up over here – will try now .. all the best

  3. Traci Best says:

    What a neat idea! Thank you! 😉

  4. it definitely seems to be fruitfly season here! I have never noticed them so bad before

  5. Kristen says:

    I thought I was the only one who had these in her house. I went on vacation for 2 and a half weeks and didn’t realize that one of my boys put an apple in the empty garbage and when I came home…. You can only imagine! Thank you for the tip. I am starting it tomorrow!

  6. What a great idea! Thanks for that!!!! We get them a lot ….yeah I’m not great at clearing out the banana’s and tomato’s…

  7. jennifer says:

    Oh. My. Wonderful! I dispise fruit flys. I go hunting for them at my house (clapping to kill ’em). As soon as you wash your hands really well from that, you see another. So this will be a welcome change.
    Thanks

  8. That’s such a great tip! No matter how much I have cleaned and scrubbed, I always seem to have the pesky little fruit flies hanging around. I will be trying this today!

  9. Victoria says:

    Thank you!!! My in-laws just complained the other day that they have gnats coming out of nowhere. Can’t wait to tell my MIL and hear their success! God bless!

  10. If you don’t happen to have apple cider vinegar, try a slice of apple — works great too!

  11. Melissa says:

    I wish I’d read this back when you posted it! About a month ago we had a fruit fly problem after we took a road trip and forgot that the bag of maps also contained a banana!

    At the time I read a few ideas of what liquid to use for bait. Since I’d just opened a 4-ounce bottle of wine to make a sauce–and noticed fruit flies hovering around the bottle–I decided to use the rest of the wine as bait. Worked beautifully.

Leave a Reply

