WFMW: Flylady

wfmw

This is a repost from a while back. I’m still struggling coming back from vacation, and staring into the gaping maw of school AND my new job starting next week. Not sure how it’s all gonna go, but I know that I’ll need Flylady more than ever!

I’m sure a lot of people already know about Flylady. I first heard about her from my in-laws. My father-in-law was “encouraging” my mother-in-law to adopt some of her habits. (Which is ironic, because she does ALL the housework singlehandedly just fine, while her husband critiques her.)

Anyway, when I got home, I checked out the website and signed on. I’ve been “fluttering” along, off and on, ever since. I started fluttering a bit harder after hearing that one of my neighbors was a Flybaby too.

The great part is that you’re only asked to do what you can, when you can. Very slowly, I’ve learned to build habits. I “swish and swipe” my bathrooms, not everyday yet, but maybe three days a week, which still makes a big difference! I now do a load of laundry (almost) everyday. (Of course, that was partially instilled by the fact that our dryer died and we had to use the clothesline for about 2 weeks.)

Basically, housework feels like a lot less of an emergency. Which is a HUGE relief. I can see the tops of my kitchen table and counters a lot more often.

With each habit I acquire, I acquire that much more PEACE.

Peace TOTALLY works for me.

For more ideas that work, check out Works for me Wednesday at We Are THAT Family.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Works for Me Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

