Going to the Drive In

wfmw

tilt

Last summer, some friends turned us on to a drive-in movie theater that’s not too far away…and still functioning! What a blast. It’s the perfect family night out on a summer evening, and even better with another family or two! These pics are from May.

Waiting for it to get dark

Waiting for it to get dark

Our ride has been pimped.

Our ride has been pimped.

A few suggestions of items to bring for something to play with before it gets dark (we got there when it opened at 7:30 pm; movie started after 9:00 pm)

  • cards
  • frisbee
  • ball to throw around
  • bubbles

…and for comfort:

  • air mattress for back of minivan
  • pillows
  • blankets
  • comfy folding camp chairs (or chaise lounge!)
  • sweatshirts/jackets
  • pajamas (especially for little kids)

…and to eat!

  • Your family’s favorite snacks
  • Juice boxes
  • Beverages for the adults (I’ll leave this up to you; remember a designated driver!)
  • Puppy chow

But don’t forget to visit the snack bar…that’s how they stay open!

"Let's all go to the lobby..."

"Let's all go to the lobby..."

And with that, enjoy the show!

Enjoy the show!

Enjoy the show!

For more great ideas, check out Works for Me Wednesday at We Are That Family and Things I Love Thursday at The Diaper Diaries.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Things I Love Thursday, Works for Me Wednesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Going to the Drive In

  1. Amanda says:

    I miss our drive-in!

  2. Jane says:

    Wow, this reminds me of my childhood. We had a station wagon, and my mom would make up a bed in the back for us, complete with a puffy quilt and pillows. She’d bake cookies and brownies and make her own popcorn, to save money. It was always a treat to go! Thanks for sharing.

    Jane

  3. Joy says:

    Our family also LOVES the drive in. The ticket prices can’t be beat. It’s much better for my two year old since he doesn’t have to stay seated the whole time!

  4. mub says:

    I LOVE going to the drive-in! They don’t really exist here in Europe, so I like to go when I get to the US to visit my family =)

  5. Naomi says:

    We love love our drive-in! I remember memories of me, as a kid, going with my family. I wonder if there is one near where are currently are?

    Also, love the Puppy Chow suggestion … my grandmother makes this all of the time!

  6. MommyAmy says:

    Aw… our local drive in had to close, I miss it!

  7. LaVonne says:

    I wish I could go to the drive in. they are wonderful! Thanks for sharing.

  8. angie says:

    so wish there was still a drive in around here there are none near me anywhere that I know of all of them have been tore down

  9. How fun!!! I look forward to my kids being a little older one day & finding one of these in our town!!

  10. Veggiemomof2 says:

    Thanks for reminding me this is something I want to do with our kids this summer. They haven’t experienced a drive-in yet & they are 15 & 12.

  11. Jennifer says:

    I love the drive-in. The one where my in-laws live is still open–I’m so glad because it’s such a fun family night activity.

  12. I would LOVE this, but I don’t think there are any in our area. Boo 😦

Leave a Reply

