Life is Short.

Life is short.

Life is short.

I was on Twitter yesterday, and saw my local news stations tweet about a local fatal car crash. I clicked through; it’s a small enough town that that sort of thing is unusual. The first time I clicked, no names had been released. But I had this nagging feeling I might know them.

The second time I clicked, there were names, but I didn’t know them.

The third, they’d added that the vehicles involved were an SUV and a minivan. There were aerial photos.

I kept clicking every time they tweeted. Still couldn’t shake that feeling that I knew them. And it was THEM. Not just him or her. THEM.

This morning, before I got in the shower, the phone rang. It was my next door neighbor. Another neighbor had asked her to call and share the bad news. It turns out, the couple that died, that I was somehow irrationally CONVINCED I knew, were the grandparents of a neighbor family. They watched the little kids during the day while the parents were at work. I’d hung out at the bus stop for years with the grandfather…very nice guy!

If you’re the praying kind, say a few for the couple and their family. Our neighbors have four kids (ages 6 through high school) who will be missing their grandparents.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Life is Short.

  1. Oh dear. SO sad. So sorry. Prayers sent.

  2. Dana says:

    So sorry to hear about the loss.

  3. I read about them in our paper. So tragic.

Leave a Reply

