Life is What Happens…

I read this post by Shannon on Fab Fatties, and my reply was almost a post of its own!

I’m right there with you, Shannon! Except my 3rd kid is my mom. 🙂

It got WAY too crazy there for a while. It was the last few weeks of school right into the first few weeks of summer…Mom was ailing, then hospitalized, then needed extra help post-hospitalization. All too much for me!

I recently re-read a chapter from Martha Beck’s book The Four Day Win. The book is about psychologically preparing yourself to lose the weight and keep it off forever. The chapter I read was specifically about the results of a study where drug-addicted rats were placed into either “rat-trap” (undesirable) settings or “rat-park” (very desirable) settings. The rat-trap rats took the drug-laced sugar water offered them, whereas the rat-park rats avoided it, even suffering through withdrawal symptoms.

Here’s the takeaway: design your life so that it looks more like a park than a trap, and you won’t need the drugs/food to make the pain go away.

That’s what I’ve been working on and thinking about ever since.

Hang in there!

Thoughts?

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life is What Happens…

  1. I LOVED that rat-trap vs rat-park analogy in Martha Beck. It’s so important to think about these things. Right now mine is about 65% park I think. I’ve got a ways to go, but on balance it’s more park than trap. Thanks for the reminder.

  2. wildforgod says:

    Very good explaination about the importance of your environment. It is very true that food is comfort – it’s something to look forward to enjoying. In this way, food helps dull the pain for a time. My environment is fairly well organized into the “park” scenario, but it can still be a mental battle.

Leave a Reply

