Dance Fever

Today is a rest day after an incredibly crazy dance-recital week. We had stage rehearsal on Monday night, and dress rehearsal on Thursday night. The recital was on Friday and Saturday night.

The girls did great in their first-ever recital! I’d post pics, but I don’t have the professional ones that were taken, and the USB cord to my digital camera is MIA, so no candids, either.

My saving grace was my sister, @busybeebecca, who came in for the weekend. She danced in high school, so all this recital stuff was old hat for her. She handled the girls’ hair and make up, and did it much better and much more calmly than I could have. In return, I made a healthy dinner before the recital both nights.

I considered taking Mom to the recital, but I thought it’d be too late a night for her. She’ll have to wait for the DVD, I guess!

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Sandwich Generation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dance Fever

  1. Beq says:

    It was a joy to assist with the hectic weekend. My favorite part was hair & makeup for the girls. The 3-hour dance recital was entertaining. I still think that’s too long for any all-American audience to sit still though.

    It did inspire me to be more involved with dance in Chicago. We have SummerDance [http://www.chicagosummerdance.com] sponsored by the Chicago Park District hosts free outdoor dancing and the sounds of dozens of top notch bands playing everything from swing, salsa and afrobeat to reggae, funk and klezmer, all on one huge dance floor in Grant Park. Plus I checked out my local dance studio for lessons.

Leave a Reply

