Changes in Latitude, Changes in Attitude…

I went to the Jimmy Buffett show on Tuesday with Mr. Hoagie and two other couples. It was a great time, as always (this was my 3rd show). I love tailgating there; the fans are always so friendly! We swapped food (brownies! coconut shrimp! and these AWESOME teeny little Cheeseburgers in Paradise cookies), drinks (margaritas shot out of a shark-shaped water gun) and conversation with our neighbors. Speaking of neighbors, we ended up with our actual backyard neighbors right across from us tailgating in the parking lot! Small world.

We had a good spead: fruit kabobs, a shrimp layered dip, chips, all kinds of alcohol (though I didn’t drink much this year; one Mike’s Hard Lime and a couple strawberry dacquiri Jell-O shots), but the main event, food-wise was our Cheeseburgers in Paradise.

Mr. Hoagie manned the grill. That guy makes the BEST burgers! How’s that song go?

I like mine with lettuce and tomat-uh

Heinz 57 and french-fried potat-uhs

A big kosher pickle and a cold draft beer

Well good God Almighty which way do I steer

for my…Cheeseburger in Paradise

Well, we had all the fixin’s. Add to that a pile of linguini salad, and I was blissed out!

As I was finishing my burger, my cell phone rang. It was Mom.

She called to report that she had taken a fall. Again. Apparently she was in the dining room for dinner. She was up at the salad bar when the person in front of her moved backwards. Mom stepped back to get out of the way, but lost her balance and fell. Three nurses from the assisted living unit came over and took Mom’s vitals and got her patched up. She had a small cut near her left eyebrow and had broken her glasses. She managed to finish dinner and got back up to her room.

Stress! But at least she had help and was okay. I offered to come home, but Mom knew I’d driven all six of us to the concert, and told me that I didn’t have to; she was fine.

The rest of the night went well; we packed up and went to the concert, where we had lawn seats. Jimmy put on a great show, as usual. My only regret was that I was SO tired and had been all day. I’ve been running at 100 mph for weeks, and it’s definitely caught up to me. I was quieter than usual, and I spent entirely too much time wishing I was at home at various points during the day.

Finally, at one point during the concert, I felt my shoulders loosen for what felt like the first time in weeks. Oh, sure, it was probably because I was so sleepy, but I didn’t care. Mr. Hoagie wrapped his arms around me, and we might’ve been on vacation on a tropical island. Dr.Buffett’s prescription worked like a charm!

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Sandwich Generation, Things I Love Thursday. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Changes in Latitude, Changes in Attitude…

  1. My hubby loves him, but I don’t get it. I really don’t get it. Glad you had a blast though. The hubby has told me he puts on an amazing show.

Leave a Reply

