Just another day in Paradise

Yesterday was a bit hairy, schedule-wise.

We started off with an 11:30 am dermatologist check-up for me. Normally, I would’ve left the kids with Mom, but I didn’t because she’s still not 100%, plus the fact that I needed to get the girls to swimming lessons IMMEDIATELY afterward.

I left the house extra-early, because I was hoping to get in early so I could get the girls to their lesson. They packed a backpack with books and toys. They took me back to the exam room at 11:28 am; I rolled the dice and left the kids in the waiting room alone. Just as well, the exam room was the size of a shoebox.

The doc checked out my (stress-related) acne, asked me if I had enough medication left, and wrote me some refills. He also wrote an order for blood tests to look for Polycystic Ovary Syndrome (which I looked up this morning, and damn if I don’t have about 5 symptoms).

I was out of there and in the car in about 15 minutes. Yay! We stopped at Sonic (first time ever) and got lunch to go, and skated into the pool locker room right on time.

Whew!

The kids swam while I listened to my book club audiobook on my new iPod Touch. I’d splurged and bought it a couple of nights before. It was supposed to be my reward for losing my first 10% at Weight Watchers, but since I couldn’t pull that off, it was my reward for staying with Weight Watchers for 1 year (and when I say “staying with,” I mean paying monthly and attending regularly, not actually sticking to the program…because then, I would’ve lost my 10%, see?).

Back to the locker room. The girls showered and dressed, and we headed over to pick up Grandma Chiquita. She was just laying down to rest. Which was inconvienient, because I needed her in the car in the next 15 minutes. Turns out she had blown her (energy) wad taking her walker down to lunch, so we opted to take her wheelchair to her kidney clinic appointment.

We made it to her appointment just on time. Usually, the waiting room isn’t crowded when we nornally go (about noon), but today it was. And crowded with people who did NOT seem to be in good health. It was, quite frankly, depressing. I sent the girls into the hallway to have a snack. It gave them more elbow room and got them out of the depressing atmosphere.

Mom’s appointment was good. Okay, perhaps that’s an understatement. It was MIRACULOUS. My sister and I and many of her friends had been praying for an improvement in Mom’s kidney function, and we got it! It went from 14% two weeks ago to 25% when she was released from the hospital last Friday. The nurse attributed it to being properly hydrated by IV fluids, but we know the Big Man Upstairs should get the props!

After her appointment, everyone was hungry. After trying to put it to a vote, no one could decide where to eat, so I made an executive decision to stop at Sam’s Club. I picked up watermelon, strawberries, a turkey club salad and some sundried tomato turkey wraps. We ate strawberries the whole 25-minute ride home. Much better than fast food.

We got Mom back in her apartment, scarfed some food, and got Big Sis into her dance leotard. She was about 7 minutes late for dance class, but we just couldn’t have moved any faster. It was her last class at the studio before the recital next weekend. Little Sis had her class last night too, plus another one tonight.

After dance, we came home. Big, bad thunderstorms. The skies opened up just after we got home. The girls turned on the TV to find a tornado warning, which panicked Big Sis.

We were buffetted by thunderstorms for the next couple of hours. It rained in our kitchen again, this time for the better part of an hour; we collected about a quart of water in a bucket. Dinner was a frozen pizza.

I went to bed at 9:00 pm.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Sandwich Generation. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just another day in Paradise

  1. Our lives are very reflective of each other, minus the kids and some of the hectic-ness that ensues!

    I have PCOS and a mom with health problems, including kidney function issues, that I take care of. I can appreciate so much of what your day entailed!

Leave a Reply

