First Day of Summer Vacation

This is how I spent my first day of summer vacation:

  1. showing my kids who’s boss re: chores
  2. trip to Target [Mom’s cordless phone died and we needed food; I grocery shopped at (my not-Super) Target]
  3. a second trip to Target to return the leaky gallon of milk I bought
  4. a trip to Wendy’s (to feed my over-hungry kids & mom; after vowing not too eat fast food this summer)
  5. a trip home to drop off new, non-leaky milk
  6. a trip to Mom’s to eat fast food and set up new cordless phone
  7. a trip to park across town to drop off kids at Girl Scout Camp-a-Palooza
  8. a trip home. By MYSELF!
  9. a trip to local pizza place with Mr. Hoagie for an impromptu date
  10. a trip back to local park to pick up kids (we were greeted by tales of a rabid raccoon encounter)
  11. a trip back home to put kids to bed (Big Sis repeatedly complained of itchiness and eventually came downstairs to…)
  12. Watch film of rabid raccoon encounter on 11 pm news

So…how’s YOUR summer going?

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Sandwich Generation. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Day of Summer Vacation

  1. Natalia says:

    Wow! What an exciting first day of summer!

  2. Beq says:

    Let’s see…my summer? So far I’ve hit two White Sox games (I’m a Cubs fan but enjoyed the company and being outside for the event). During the 7th inning stretch, I sang for my Cuuuuu-bies! ‘Cuz if they don’t win, it’s a shame.

    Oh, and I’ve had two fabulous backyard-firepit summer evenings with my loving family [that’s you, Sandwiched!].

    Plus I’ve been taking advantage of the walking paths near my home. That generally means jogging in the morning. Today I went out on rollerblades and loved it!

Leave a Reply

