Food, glorious food…

This week has been crazy. I’ve spent a lot of extra time at my mom’s (aka “Grandma Chiquita”) because she’s been slow to bounce back from her little adventure. One of the major effects has been weakness (perhaps her anemia returning?) and a loss of appetite, so she hasn’t felt up to fixing herself anything to eat.

Back in the day (long before Food Network), she used to be quite the cook and foodie. It’s been years since she cooked (over eight, I know), so ever since then, she’s either been eating out, in the dining room at her apartment building, or fixing herself small meals (warming up leftovers, making sandwiches, etc.).

Now, she doesn’t even have the energy to do that. But for several days last week, I didn’t even know that until I stopped by mid-afternoon. One day I fed her at 2:30 pm, and I discovered it was the first she’d eaten all day. Not good for a diabetic, even though she’s been taken off all her meds.

The last time I took Mom to the kidney clinic, the dietician had nice little chats with us, both together and separately. She needs to eat healthy, kidney-friendly food in appropriate quantities.

“Lady,” I thought to myself, “I have a tough enough time feeding my picky eight-year-old, let alone finding something that all FIVE of us can eat!”

But over the next couple of weeks, I made a serious effort to keep Mom stocked with good food. Made her a couple of pasta salads, some sandwich fixings, bought her steaks and a George Foreman grill. Some days, she ate. Others, not so much.

The pasta salads both got thrown away. *sigh*

And now, after her latest fall, no appetite whatsoever. Yesterday I made her white toast with Parkay and cinnamon-sugar for dinner, because “nothing else sounded good.” I figured it was better than nothing….

Meanwhile, I’m falling behind at home. Laundry is piling up; meals here are neither being planned nor made; Girl Scout camp, VBS and piano lessons are NOT being signed-up for.

A friend on FaceBook mentioned yesterday that she was considering a career change, maybe cooking for those with special diets, like athletes. I mentioned my mom and her crazy Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) diet, and said that right now, I’d pay good money to anyone who’d be able to provide my mom even just 3-5 meals a week.

There’s DEFINITELY a market for it!

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Food, glorious food…

  1. Mary Jo says:

    Have you checked into the possibility of Meals on Wheels? I know my grandmother was on that and she enjoyed some of the food. At least you know that she would have the option of eating 1-2 meals a day. If you still live in the Pittsburgh area, I know that they do have several Meals on Wheels in that area.

    • Sandwiched says:

      I actually have considered it; the local Meals on Wheels actually operates out of the church right NEXT DOOR to Mom’s apartment building. I guess I’m just not desperate enough; I feel like maybe I should leave a service like that for those who REALLY NEED it.

      I do the same thing with parking spaces, by the way.

      Weird, I know.

Leave a Reply

