WFMW: Journaling

wfmw

I like to write. I’ve always wanted to be a journal-er. But I’m such a perfectionist, I could never figure out quite how to start. I even bought cute journals, hoping it’d entice me. Kinda, but not really.

One day a couple of months ago, I read somewhere that I don’t HAVE to write the equivalent of War and Peace for each journal entry. What if each entry was only as long as a tweet?

140 characters? Now THAT I can do.

On average, I write 2 or 3 tweets-worth, and then add a short list of things I’m grateful for. I usually do it before bed, by the light of my favorite book light. It’s a great snapshot of what’s going on on my life, and a positive way to end my day.

For more great ideas, check out Works for Me Wednesday at We Are THAT Family.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in books, Family, Works for Me Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to WFMW: Journaling

  1. Melissa says:

    That’s a really good idea. Like you, I’ve never established a habit of journaling. I write email messages, I blog, but I never get around to writing in the journal. When I do write in my journal, I write three pages–then I don’t touch the book again for two (or six) months!

    I love this idea, though–and also the idea of keeping the book on my nightstand. That might be the best time to wrap up my thoughts for the day.

  2. Megan says:

    great idea. I don’t journal – never had. But I think I could do this. Thanks!

  3. cookingupafamily says:

    who knew that tweeter would change how we write too! good idea and nice and sweet. like the idea.

  4. Amy says:

    I like this idea! I used to keep detailed journals, back before I had kids. Now, when I have all kinds of kid memories I should be journaling, I don’t do it. Maybe I will try it your way!

    I’m talking about buying “good dirt” as a frugal tip for my WFMW post today… sounds silly, right? Stop by if you’d like to check it out! 🙂

  5. Pat says:

    Great idea!! This makes it a lot easier for all of us “perfectionist” some- day- journal-ers! Thanks for the idea. Now to make sure I don’t over think this idea as well!

    Create a Great Day!
    Pat

  6. GlobalFit says:

    Good idea. It’s always better to set small goals than to set yourself up for failure by planning to write a short story every day.

    I have a closet littered with half-used journals. I’d stop and start all the time, prompted by one good idea, a stressful time, or seeing a pretty journal.

    Now that I blog for my company, but journaling has suffered. But maybe committing to a small “tweet-size” goal will be the boost that gets me back into it.

  7. wherelifebecomesart says:

    I’ve tried journaling and just can’t do it. That’s why I started blogging. I do miss the gratitude part of journaling though.

  8. Great idea! I have never really journaled, for basically the same reasons you shared. Maybe I will have to give this a try. I’ll have to get a cute notebook first, though. 🙂

  9. Pink Monkey says:

    I love this idea! I have a journal but haven’t been diligent in doing daily entries. It depends on my day. But I like the gratitude list at the end. Maybe I’ll try to make THAT a daily routine.

  10. love this! I may “borrow” it for helping my older kids keeping a journal over the summer.

  11. Katie says:

    Me too! Good point to cut yourself some slack.

Leave a Reply

