New & Improved Banana Boats

wfmw

This is a repost from last November. BUT I’ve made an improvement to the recipe (bolded)…check it out!

Okay, I have to admit, this idea isn’t original. I got it from my friend Gretchen when she hosted a playdate a few years ago. But it’s so good, we’re still using it!

One of our favorite kid snacks is Banana Boats. They’re tasty, healthy and so easy! And did I mention kids (oh, okay…and every grown-up who’s ever tried them) love ’em?

Take a banana and cut it in half width-wise (is that a word?). Then halve each half again lengthwise so you have 4 pieces of banana, each with a flat side and a rounded side.

Microwave a tablespoon or so of peanut butter for about 30 seconds. Top the flat side of each banana with a layer of the melty peanut butter. (It sure beats wrestling with the room-temperature pb and the slimy cut side of the banana!)

Top that with granola (our favorite is Cascadian Farm). Serve.

I was planning to take pictures of my lovely creations, which I made for an after-school snack today, but they literally got snarfed down by Big Sis before I even got the camera out. Oops. (It happened again this morning, too! These things must be GOOD!)

I’ll post pics when I can. Until then, enjoy!

For more great ideas, check out Works for me Wednesday at We Are THAT Family.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Recipes, Things I Love Thursday, Works for Me Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New & Improved Banana Boats

  1. We used to make banana boats when I was a camp counselor, only less healthy… we pulled down one strip of the peel, cut the banana lengthwise, and filled the slit with mini marshmallows and chocolate chips. Put the peel back on, wrap in foil, and get it all warm and gooey by putting it down in the embers of the campfire for a few minutes.
    DELISH. 🙂
    But yours sounds like something I might actually WANT my kids to eat. 😉

  2. Lisa says:

    Sounds like a GREAT different snack idea…summer is here and I’ll be using this. Thanks

  3. Beq says:

    Happy Birthday!!! I hope you have a wonderful today celebrating with family & friends.

  4. Kristine says:

    Hey – Thanks for stopping by my blog! I’m glad you liked the idea about storing your kids’ art.

    I LOVE this banana boat idea!! I think my daughter would also love it!

  5. Pingback: After School Snacks : The Finer Things in Life

Leave a Reply

