Caregiving #fail

Just back from picking Mom up off the floor this morning.

I’m not sure I have the energy to go into all of it, but Mom was diagnosed with the flu on Friday. Talked to her Saturday at 9:30 am; she was about to take her pills.

Saturday morning around 10 am, she got up to get herself a glass of water to take her pills with. She never made it.

She sank down on the couch (which is too low to get herself back up from), and there she stayed…until 10:30 pm that night. Couldn’t reach the pull cord or the cordless telephone, or even the stinking remote for the TV.

But she heard all the phone messages from my sister and me…at least 3 that night alone.

At 10:30 pm, she rolled off the couch to try to get…well, anywhere else.

Long story short, folks…she spent the night on the floor.

I tried to reach her three times this morning before church, and there was no answer. Called my sister to see if she’d talked with Mom any more recently than I had…nope.

I sent Mr. Hoagie and the kids to church, and I went to Mom’s.

I found her on the floor, burst into tears, and pulled the cord to get a nurse to come by. We picked her up and got her comfortable, and the nurse took her vitals. All fine, though her BP was a bit elevated.

I got her water and a light breakfast (she hadn’t eaten or drank since Friday night), and when she was feeling stronger, I got her showered and dressed.

I’ve just come home to get a few things, but I’m on my way back over. I tucked her in (her actual BED) for a nap before I left.

What a morning….

UPDATE: Stopped back at Mom’s to get things cleaned up this afternoon. Watched Obama at Notre Dame with her.Took her measurements to buy her new clothes. Fixed her dinner & got her settled. Came home, and had the kids call to check on her. Mom told the girls I saved her life; I corrected her: “Mom, I nearly killed you!”

Why didn’t I check on her EARLIER?!?

She was in bed by 7:30 pm. So far, so good….

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Caregiving #fail

  1. What a morning for you and your mom. Bless both your hearts! I hope that she is feeling better! How are you?

  2. Clesha says:

    So sorry to hear about your mom. I hope she’s doing better. I will keep you all in prayer.

  3. Pingback: Walking the caregiving balance beam. « Sandwiched

  4. Pingback: Food, glorious food… « Sandwiched

  5. Pingback: Running on empty « Sandwiched

  6. Pingback: Keep walking | Sandwiched

  7. Pingback: Assisted living and hospice | Sandwiched

Leave a Reply

