A Little Long in the Tooth

I took Mom to the dentist last week.

Now, that doesn’t sound very exciting. But it was the first time she’s gone since she’s lived here in Pennsylvania. And the first time in several years.

But she had a tooth break. Let’s just say it was noticable.

Mom has a bit of a phobia about dentists. Mr. Hoagie would call her an “anti-dentite.”

When I went to make her the appointment, the receptionist asked which dentists she’d like to see.

“I’m not sure,” I replied, “but if it helps you decide, her mouth is probably a train wreck.”

Sure enough, the dentist said all of her top teeth and most of the bottom teeth need to come out. She’s got an appointment with the oral surgeon next.

AND, she has to get the procedure approved by ALL of her doctors before it happens. No mean feat.

And it’s still surgery. She has coronary artery disease, 14 arterial stents, diabetes, renal failure, anemia…

This will not be easy-peasy.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Sandwich Generation. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Little Long in the Tooth

  1. Oh dear. Poor you!! Poor mom!! I have to admit, I am an anti-dentite myself. I’m steeling myself to make an appointment myself. Not quite a train wreck, but at least a bike wreck in there. Sigh…

  2. ElleBee says:

    Oh my…Dittos on poor you and poor mom. Hope you both survive this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

