1000 Ways to #Fail

I dropped the ball today.

Big time.

Big Sis was invited to a classmate’s house today for a playdate. She’d talked to him extensively the afternoon before, bonding over Club Penguin. So he invited her over to play today.

She’d been over to his house once before for his birthday party. She’d told me that the kids had unrestricted access to YouTube that day.

Clue #1.

The one to arrange the playdate with me was the second-grader. Though I did hear his mom in the background; I assumed she was monitoring the conversation. Maybe, maybe not.

Clue #2.

When my husband dropped her off, the boy was out playing in the yard with another girl near his age (later found out it was his half-sister). Mr. Hoagie asked if his parents were home. He jerked his thumb toward the house.

Mr. Hoagie went into the house with the boy, where he found the man of the house (Dad? Stepdad? Does it matter?) watching TV in the dark. He seemed like a nice guy, my husband reports.

Clue #3: no parent was at the door to receive my daughter.

Now, I was a little leery of allowing Big Sis to attend a playdate where I hadn’t met the parents (although Mr. Hoagie had at the boy’s birthday party). Enough so that I wondered aloud if we should ask if there was a gun in the home. I gave her a lecture on gun safety, just in case. And another on “using her best judgement,” which seemed to go over her head.

I should’ve known, right?

Mr. Hoagie picked her up. We asked her how it went, what they did, what they played. “Good,” “played by the creek,” and “Club Penguin,” were the answers.

Fast forward six hours. After a cookout at a friend’s house, we return home. The kids are wiped out.

Little Sis falls asleep immediately.

Big Sis is weepy, which is not unusual when she’s overtired. But moments after lights out, she’s beside herself. “I’m SCARED!” she wails.

She comes downstairs, and is sobbing so hard I can’t understand her. Finally after four tries, she manages to disclose that she and her friend had watched 1000 Ways to Die that afternoon. I’d heard of the show, but never seen it. So I Googled it. Here’s a brief overview of the subject matter.

No wonder the kid’s scared!

I eventually got her to sleep. Then I read every single description of every segment on every show.

I wonder if I’LL get to sleep tonight!

Next time, they’ll play at OUR house, thankyouverymuch.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 1000 Ways to #Fail

  1. Lisa Salazar says:

    Ugh, I know how you feel! Last year Jake spent the night at a neighbor’s house (I know the family–apparently not as well as I thought!). His friend is a year younger, and the mom let them watch Flight 93. The next day I had to have a loonnnngg conversation with Jake about 9/11. Was SO not ready for that. Who lets a 6 y/o and a 7 y/o watch Flight 93?!

Leave a Reply

