Starting over…again.

I saw this post Monday. And I so empathized with her that I had to chime in. By the time I was done commenting, it was almost its own post.

Oh, honey…I am SO right there with you. I am FOREVER starting over. To the point where I threw it all to the wind a couple years ago and quit trying.

THAT didn’t work. Backfired in a BIG way.

You know, I worked with a trainer a few years ago who repeatedly berated me for falling off the wagon. When he stopped to take a breath, I chimed in, “Well, at least I started over again.”

Went over like a lead balloon. Said if I stayed on the program to begin with, I’d never have to worry about starting over. To his credit, he got me down to my lowest-ever adult weight. But I couldn’t STAY there without him breathing down my neck.

Heaven knows I don’t have it all figured out. I don’t have hardly ANYTHING figured out. But one thing I have figured out is this: If at first you don’t succeed, try try again. Because trust me…the alternative SUCKS.

That’s the one weight-loss thing I know for sure. Anyone else have any pearls of wisdom?

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Weighing In and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Starting over…again.

  1. NotAMeanGirl says:

    I really appreciated your comment the other day. Often, it feels like I’m the only person in the WORLD struggling with this stuff. It really helps to be reminded that’s SO not the case!!!!

  2. ElleBee says:

    NotAMeanGirl—you are SO not the only one in the world! 🙂 As far as continually starting over, that’s the definition of not giving up. CHOOSING to get up again when you’re down, CHOOSING to say “I will not go gently…”, CHOOSING to try again instead of throwing in the towel and pretending you don’t care. That’s what life is all about. Because when you really get down to brass tacks (I love that phrase!), every day is a chance for a “do over”.

  3. Hi! Thanks for stopping by “Things I Love Thursday” today!

    I agree with you wholeheartedly – starting over is half the battle when you’re struggling to do pretty much anything! 🙂

  4. I dunno. I don’t know if I could succeed with a coach who berated me and breathed down my neck. I’m finding (this time around, and believe me there have been many many many!!!!!!!) that I have also berated myself for “failing” for so many years. This never ends up working. THIS time I am trying something completely unique and new: patience and compassion! How ’bout that. It seems to be, miraculously, working. For the first time ever.

Leave a Reply

