Happy (belated) Easter!

Just back from our Easter weekend trip to Chicago. It was a great trip, not too stressful. We got to see family and friends, and enjoyed PLENTY of elbow room where we stayed. On Easter Sunday, I went to church twice: once with my family to the 7:30 am Mass at my in-laws’ Catholic church, and once at 9:00 am at Harvest Bible Chapel, where my sister and I were privileged to see Kirk Cameron (who I also wrote about here). The service at Harvest was inspiring and uplifting, and the music was P-H-E-N-O-M-I-N-A-L! The reason I attended was to hear Kirk speak, but after a service like that, Kirk was just a drop in the bucket!

Upon arriving home last night, I hadn’t even made it into the house before learning that the mother of on of my neighbors had died yesterday. Very sad. She was only 59, recovering from a “routine” foot surgery. To make a long story short, she didn’t follow doctor’s orders, she wasn’t in good physical shape, and so she died in the ambulance on the way to the hospital. The doctors believe a blood clot got to her lungs.

So if you’re the praying kind, please say a quick prayer for the family of Sandee.

Her death has shaken me up more than I’d have expected. She was a fixture at parties at my neighbors’ house, and I’d talked with her many times. She and I used to belong to the same gym.

It makes me realize that if I don’t get my  butt in gear and lose this weight, I could be her in 23 years.

I’ll write more later; right now I’m off to pick up Chiquita and Little Sis to run errands and grab lunch.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Sandwich Generation. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy (belated) Easter!

  1. Carole says:

    Oh, you were up in my neck of the woods! It was cool, but the sun was out at least!

    It is important to get healthy. I’m so sorry that it takes something bad to wake people up.

    There are a number of articles and recipes at my blog that can help. Let me know if I can do anything else to help you.

  2. Stacy says:

    Your neighbor’s loss hits close to home. My brother has had complications from a difficult foot surgery. He keeps returning to work too early. Best to follow the doctor’s orders.

  3. Ugh! So sorry to hear about that. Prayers!

  4. Hi, I’m so sorry to hear about your neighbor and am praying for her family.

    How fun to get to hear Kirk Cameron! Have been blessed by his ministry since my kids (and I) enjoyed his sister and him in their tv shows – mannnnny years ago 🙂

Leave a Reply

