Evolution v. Creation: Help Me Out

So my sister recently told me that she no longer believes in evolution. After studying up on it, reading her Bible, talking with Christian friends, and praying about it, she has conceded the fight to creationism.

Which made me wonder why. She is a very intelligent woman, went to the same Presbyterian church I did, and took the same high school science classes I did. It never occurred to me that she’d “switch sides.”

That’s not entirely accurate, though. She had believed and I do believe a combination of the two: essentially, that God kicked off the Big Bang.

It Worked for Me.

But now it doesn’t work for her. So maybe it shouldn’t be working for me?

I referred to this last week at one point; after visiting this site, I’ve started taking my faith more seriously. I think I Get It. Much more than I used to, anyway.

So after talking about this a couple of times last week, she sent me an email tonight. Here it is, in part:

You may want to underline this. Please read Hebrews 11.

This jumped out at me. Of course, to read this, you must believe in
God. If that’s true, you must believe that the Bible is God-given to
teach, correct and train us (2 Timothy 3:16). If you’re still with me:

Hebrews 11:3
“By faith we understand that the universe was formed at God’s command,
so that what is seen was not made out of what was visible.”

I am floored. It is in black and white. Wow, what clarity. I’m sorry
if this doesn’t seem profound to you. This came at a quiet time for me
after I prayed for insight. Not only does He declare that the universe
was formed at his command (I got that from Genesis and Sunday school),
He further clarifies with “…was NOT made out of what was visible”.

I hope you appreciate that I’m sharing my own “God moment” with you.
This is special to me. Thanks for listening. You asked about how I
gained perspective to not believe in evolution; it’s lots of little
discoveries like this that string together to form my belief and faith
in God.

Furthermore, I StumbledUpon (literally; StumbleUpon emailed me the link tonight) this video, which further complicates the issue:

I’m just curious: where do you fall on the issue and why? Is the Bible completely inerrant, or is it the product of unnamed, unidentifiable (at times) humans? Feel free to cite Bible passages or other sources. I’m just interested in learning more.

By the way, I know this topic can get people fired up. Please keep your responses civil; I reserve the right to delete responses I deem inappropriate. That being said, I would like to hear from all sides.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in politics, Works for Me Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Evolution v. Creation: Help Me Out

  1. ElleBee says:

    Oh, Kathleen, you and I SO need to have lunch together! 🙂 This (and others) is a subject with which I have been wrestling. Two years ago, I was baptized. I’ve been attending a small Bible-based church and LOVE it. There are, however, some VERY significant differences between Evangelical Christian teachings and my Catholic upbringing. I’ve always subscribed to the “God kicked off the Big Bang” theory that you mentioned, but have questioned so much in the last two years that it’s not surprising that I can see “the other side”, as it were.

  2. o0omunkieo0o says:

    Thank you for bringing this subject to us. I believe that the Bible is God’s Word. It’s there in black and white, as your sister said. I don’t think you need God to say something more than once to believe it’s true, so there’s really no point in citing other verses. Does that make sense? I hope so. Have a great day!

    *Jae*

  3. Beq says:

    At first, I was very interested in the Eckhart Tolle books as my sister read them and shared the insight she gained. It was all over ABC network and Oprah’s commercials. When it was first brought to my attention that the teachings in the book “A New Earth” were not Biblical, I was offended. My very intelligent sister (an extension of myself) was reading this book; therefore, it’s of sound doctrine [I thought]. I attempted to defend the book at first, justifying how it could be founded on Christianity.

    While many of the claims in Tolle’s book sound biblical – they simply are not. Then I heard more about this in other Christian circles (e.g., Moody Bible Radio in Chicago). Out of this experience, I have come to learn that it’s critical for me as a Christian woman to discern what I hear/read/learn against the Bible and other Christians. If I’m not clear what I believe, then I’ll believe anything because it seems to come from a reputable source [public school classroom, text book, Oprah, New York Times best seller, neighbors, my sister, etc.].

    Recently, when my sister and I began to consider attending a convention with some New Age content and focus on “Spiritual Enlightenment” I began to see that those speakers, like Tolle’s books, as sources to be inspected with the lenses of a Christian belief system. This is a new perspective for me. I’ve grown up with a worldview (not a Biblical view; even though I was raised in the church). I merged Big Bang theory, Darwin’s theory of evolution and God’s creation together so my mind could be at harmony with all theories. Frankly, for most of my life, I didn’t care enough to ask the tough questions. I started serious investigation [of my faith] in 2001 and I’m learning more every day.

    I’ve always believed in God; since a child I’ve accepted Jesus Christ as my Savior. Today I believe the Bible is true (every word). When God indicates that he created man, I believe he created a man/corpse and breathed life into him. God created something from nothing (I quoted Hebrews 11:3), as I understand it. I do NOT believe that God created a monkey, that mutated into an orangutan [intelligent ape], that transformed into a man… but we just can’t find all the fossils.

    The theory of evolution (per Darwin) is a notion that all life came from a common animal ancestor. In his early publication, The Origin of Species, the focus was on animals; to his credit, he tried to steer clear of the discussion regarding the origin of humans at that time. Toward the end of his life, he expounded his theory to humans and concluded humans have a lowly origin. The premise is based on random genetic changes that took place over time to form the humans and animals on Earth today (transmutation). I do not subscribe to this theory because it contradicts the Bible and because the recent discoveries in nanotechnology illustrate a beautifully intelligent design at the molecular level that is far from random.

    Darwin, who was once a Christian, gave his theory an ‘out’ with this remark:
    Darwin conceded that, “If it could be demonstrated that any complex organ existed, which could not possibly have been formed by numerous, successive, slight modifications, my theory would absolutely break down.”

    It is demonstrated in God’s Word plus the advance of molecular biology in the past 40 years that humans (complex organs) exist without being formed by successive modifications. As a Christian, I believe God’s Word over any man’s theory.

  4. Stephanie says:

    I do believe the Bible to be true and therefore I believe in creation but having been a Bible believing Christian most of my life, I sadly did not study this issue as I should have…I just believed what I was told. So when it came time to put my kids in public school I flet some research was in order. http://www.answersingenesis.com is my favorite site to go to for help on this subject. Very helpful not only for me but also for my kids, who are being taught evolution in school.

  5. Flowerpot says:

    Hi, I think you are asking some great questions. I would highly recommend two things:
    First, seek out The Truth Project. There should be a Truth Project in your area. The Truth Project takes major themes in life (science, philsophy, history, politics, etc) and examines them through the lens of scriptures, so you can see what the bible actually has to say about a given topic. Alot of the material is deep and is not for the light of brain, so to speak. 🙂 Here is a link to Del Tacket’s blog and his posts on science. Most of this is about his trek through the Grand Canyon: http://deltackett.com/category/science/

    Secondly, I would also recommend studying the character of God. Get a concordance (online is fine) and search the attributes/characteristics of God. Find out who He says He is. As you study who He is, you will find spider webs leading back to what He does (and has done and will do in the future).

    I am happy to converse further with you. As I said before, I think you are asking great questions. Please feel free to email me.

  6. wherelifebecomesart says:

    I believe in both and there is nothing wrong with that. I have a degree in geology ( and a minor in religion BTW), and I was amazed in college that the history of the world in geological terms actually follows the bible very closely…the time difference is the major difference. Do I believe the world was created in 6 days? No way! But the bible says that when we die that the time frame up there is different from here right? Eons here is like days there…it says that. Well God was creating the world in his days, or our eons. The scientific community will also agree that the world was formed out of things not visible. It started from gasses and particles.
    I’m a very open minded person. I also am a bit of a science nerd, and also went to religious schools my entire life. If you go at it with an open mind, you can see that in this case, they fit together. JMO.

  7. I do not believe in evolution. I graduated summa cum laude with a degree in education. I am Roman Catholic. Evolution has no more “proof” than creationism. The scientific community wants us all to accept Darwinism as fact, but they have yet to prove a thing. It is mostly based on carbon dating, but there is no way to prove that an item that has been carbon dated to be millions of years old, is in fact millions of years old. That is a belief, based as much – if not more – on pure faith. That some rather young items found in the wake of recent volcanic eruptions have been put through carbon dating and are supposed to be now millions of years old would prove that carbon dating is a hoax.

    Did God create the world out of nothing? Absolutely. Did He do it in seven days? Probably. But how long is His day? His days are not our days.

    There is just too much truth in the Bible not to believe it. There are a growing number of scientists who are also Christians. And dinosaurs are mentioned in the old testament. I forget the place, but they write “consider the behemoth with tails of cedar”. Elephants and rhinos do NOT have tails of cedar. Some dinosaurs did.

    Well, its the middle of the night and I should get to bed. But know that you are in good company. Creationists are not ignorant or blind. We just have faith.

  8. Ginger says:

    Please get a copy of Ruth Beechick’s book, Genesis: Finding Our Roots,

    http://www.mottmedia.com/pages/publications.asp?Pub=beechick#Genesis

    It is a wonderful book and it really solidified a lot of questions that I had. She even explains dinosaurs in the book. This is text taken from the publisher’s website:

    Have we been brainwashed about our roots? Read evidence that the writings in Genesis are more ancient than historians admit. Adam, Noah, and other eyewitnesses actually wrote these records for us. This unique course, based on Genesis 1-11, integrates the linguistic evidence and other fields of knowledge with the Bible. It clears up the fuzziness of history before Egypt. Through literature and art it reveals startling insights about giants, dragons, cherubim and other beings that the early people knew but we have lost in myth. Gives true answers to age-old questions of God, man, and the world — in order to develop the right worldview, which leads to right thinking. Includes maps, charts, timeline and full-color reproductions of ancient art. Six units with flexible uses for teens, almost teens, and the rest of the family.

    I know stuff like this is stressful. I’ll say a little prayer that your sis comes around.

  9. HELLO says:

    “Evolution has no more “proof” than creationism. The scientific community wants us all to accept Darwinism as fact, but they have yet to prove a thing.”

    This is one of the silliest things I’ve ever heard, and this is coming from somebody who would consider himself a Christian. It’s completely possible to reconcile one’s beliefs with the concepts of evolution.

    However, I fail to understand how scientists – many of which have established incredible evidence for the process of evolution – have failed to prove anything.

    I suggest taking this claim to an actual professor and seeing how long it can support its weight. Saying that evolution has no evidence and data to support it is roughly the equivalent of saying that nobody really knows what the Sun is made of.

    Have you guys ever read on oral histories? The whole evolution vs. creationism thing seems to stem entirely from the fact that many Christians seem unable to reconcile with the idea that the book of Genesis may just be a single recording of a long oral history shared between the many people living in the area of Jerusalem.

    The thing about oral histories is that they tend to be a universal trait of humans. Creation stories are an archetype, and you’ll find that people used some pretty creative storytelling to get a point across: we’re fragile things. Oral histories would change and fluctuate as people would tell them and as they would be passed down to each generation.

    Finally, one person began writing down *their* version of the oral history. Just like whisper down the lane, simple truths tend to get blown up in favor of telling a good story.

    So, would it be possible to view the book of Genesis not as the honest-to-goodness word of God but instead a people’s beautiful way of defining who they are and where they came from?

    I’m not equipped to take on people with their fingers in their ears, but hopefully you guys can take a second to look into some other ideas without scoffing. God will forgive you if you turn away from dogma for just a second – honest!

Leave a Reply

