Mom called…

…again.

The first call was this morning. It’s our daily just-checking-in-to-let-you-know-I-woke-up-today call. It usually involves Mom grilling me on my schedule for the day. Sometimes I feel like she’s checking for chinks in it to see if she can insert herself.

So I carried on with my (boring) day. Laundry…always laundry…cleaning, scrubbing, dishes, blah blah blah. Sometimes I feel I could spend every waking moment doing that stuff and still never catch up.

The phone rings. I’m scrubbing the toilet. It’s Mom. I ignore it.

She HATES that. But I do it in the interest of maintaining my sanity.

If she’s having an emergency, she’ll tell me.

“Where ARE you?” she crows cheerfully (thanks, Lexapro!) into my answering machine. “In the basement? Doing laundry? Give me a call back.”

Ummmm…WHY? So you can parrot the Fox News headlines to me? No, thanks.

Fast forward an hour and a half and two loads of laundry later. Phone rings. Mom.

Ugh. I roll my eyes and pick it up. “Hello?”

“You never called me back. What were you doing?”

“Ummm…laundry, dishes, sweeping, cleaning the bathroom…”

“So you just didn’t want to call me back.”

Yeah. Pretty much.

“You have to admit, Mom, we spend a lot of time on the phone with you watching Fox News,” (and me on Twitter, but that’s neither here nor there) I said in my defense.

“Well, I’m not watching it NOW,” she huffs.

Eventually she gets to the point of her phone call. She needs some tax documents sent to her tax guy. Apparently she was hoping I could drive them over.

I plug the address into Google maps. It’s an hour’s drive. Each way.

“Can’t you just mail them?” I plead.

“Well, they would all need to be photocopied first,” she replies.

You mean I’LL need to photocopy them and mail them. Like I don’t have enough to do.

Actually, Mom hasn’t been too bad lately. She’s been staying healthy (-ish) and I really don’t have anything to complain about. I know I’m lucky to have her. I’m just crabby.

*sigh* At least I’m not driving to the opposite side of the city.

UPDATE: Got some interesting responses on Twitter:

picture-1

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Sandwich Generation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mom called…

  1. Beq says:

    Have Mom ask someone in her community building to make copies; they have facilities to do that. Then you mail them. Good grief, do not drive paperwork – it’s not worth the gas money and 2 hours of your time. The mail will arrive the next business day. Keep it simple!

  2. losingmythighs says:

    haha -sounds a bit like my mom. although, now that I live 3k miles away from her I miss being able to pop over to her house.

    Either way I agree with Beq -dont drive the paperwork, waste of time.

  3. Jen says:

    Wow. That makes me especially grateful for the weekly call “just to hear your sweet voice.”
    Hey, at least you’re learning not to call your children bi-hourly when they’re grown.
    They’ll be thankful.

Leave a Reply

