What should I be when I grow up?

So…I’ve been thinking. I’ve been getting a handful of compliments lately (including my first blog award…yay!), seemingly out of the blue, on my writing.

I’ve always known that I CAN write. I got great grades for writing in school, and a couple of awards. But I guess I never considered writing for a living. I guess I thought of it as a “starving artist” sort of existence. And it never seemed particularly notable that I was particularly good at it, because…well, of COURSE I was. I was a good STUDENT. Good students get good GRADES. To get good grades, one has to WRITE well. Duh. Hardly makes me special.

Besides, writing is too EASY to be a job. I just banged out 1000 words yesterday about my DAY.

Plus, writing is too HARD to be a job. You have to have IDEAS, and TALENT. Plus FOCUS. DETERMINATION. PERSEVERENCE.

And I’ve heard you should be able to handle rejection. A lot of it.

I’m not so good at that.

Besides, writing feels to me a lot like exercise does. I never really feel like doing it at any given moment, I always have something more important to do, but boy…it sure feels GREAT when I’m done!

I know I’m looking at a crossroads soon. Little Sis will be in half-day kindergarten next year. I’ve already started taking classes to brush back up on my graphic design skills (though you’d never know it from my blog design…ugh). I’m planning to go back to work.

(Although for the record, I think I could quite happily remain a busy stay-at-home mom. I’m hoping for something flexible…you know, best of both worlds.)

My background is in marketing and graphic design, specifically for non-profit music organizations.  I loved editing and producing a monthly newsletter for my local MOMS Club, too. I’m a VORACIOUS (I think they invented that word just for me) reader. I also used to love to cook (the depression last year sucked the life out of that avocation, but I’m on a comeback), so I’ve considered going for a culinary arts degree (even going as far as visiting a local school, only to discover that I could only enroll full-time).

I like the idea of trying something new, but I have a huge fear of failure.

Business ideas I’ve recently considered include:

  • Offering pre-packaged, fresh healthy food at local gyms
  • Personal chef
  • Opening a cozy little breakfast-and-lunch-only cafe
  • Baking out of my home for local coffee shops
  • Opening a Super Suppers franchise
  • Opening a gym geared toward kids (with a healthy cafe inside)
  • Becoming the next Dooce
  • Starting or contributing to an ezine (I was chosen as an editor for Blog Nosh, but had to back out when Mom went into the hospital)
  • Becoming the next J.K. Rowling or Dr. Seuss
  • Having Oprah hire me to screen potential Oprah book club picks: get paid to read full time!

Of course, speaking of opening businesses, I feel I should note that I’m NOT good with money. Mr. Hoagie usually has to help me balance my checkbook. And did I tell you about the time that I overdrew my checking account by $2000? For TEN DAYS??

Ouch.

I’d be interested to hear what you have to think. Have you, dear readers, spotted a talent within me that I have yet to acknowledge or tap into?

What should I be when I grow up?

Back to the laundry and dishes…. *sigh*

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What should I be when I grow up?

  1. Susan says:

    You can most definitely write! But some of those entrepreneurial ideas seem intriguing and fun.

  2. I think that you are an incredible writer and we have many of the same interests! I really feel that I have had the best of both worlds as a WAHM (and now grandmom) with a home business for over 23 years now. You can read more about me on my site, and if your curiosity is enough to listen to more information on how it could work for you take ten minutes and let me explain it to you. http”//budurl.com/taketen

  3. Beq says:

    You are a talented writer. You can do anything you want…you just need some focus and determination. But that positive thinking stuff never was your thing. You’re on the right track: you have created a blog, you’ve received positive feedback, you’re advancing through Illustrator class! Take a moment to look how far you’ve come. My suggestion is to focus on writing for an ezine. Some of the other business ideas require up-front money.

Leave a Reply

