Weighing in: Back in the Saddle Again

Well, I spent about 45 minutes doing Wii Fit this morning, which inspired Little Sis to do some herself.

Little Sis doing a Sun Salutation

Little Sis doing a Sun Salutation

Hey…it’s a start.

And that’s what I think they key is to a lot of healthy habits. The ability to start all over again. And again, and again.

I guess that’s what they call perseverence.

I used to work with a personal trainer. He was great. I learned a lot from him and lost about 60 pounds working with him (I’ve since put them all back on). But when I’d fall off the wagon, I’d hear about it. Which of course, is a big part of what I was paying him for: to keep me accountable.

But after he’d chewed me out, I’d start to climb out of the self-pity hole. “Hey,” I told him, “at least I’m getting good at starting over.”

He’d growl right back at me, saying that I never should’ve stopped to begin with.

But I think in this journey, one of the keys to success is being able to get back on that proverbial horse when you get knocked (or jump) off.

I have weigh in at my Weight Watchers meeting tonight. I go a bit out of my way to go to this particular meeting, because the leader is so amazing. She’s a great cheerleader, and when I have a bad week, she never makes me feel guilty. Just saddle back up and try again.

This week will be a bad week. A lot of emotional eating and general throwing caution to the wind. I did get on the elliptical a couple times, but not nearly enough to compensate for all the bad food choices I made this week.

I’ve noticed that I tend to do fine with food and exercise when Mom’s in the hospital (I tend to do a lot of stairs…especially when Mom was on the 13th floor!). It’s after she gets home that I blow it. When the stress level finally drops, that’s when I fall apart with my food choices, my exercise regimen, and I sometimes even get sick or acne breakouts.

At least I’ve noticed the pattern, right?

Here’s to breaking it.

Again.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Sandwich Generation, Weighing In and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Weighing in: Back in the Saddle Again

  1. Foodie McBody says:

    I’ve been wanting to do some sort of Wii Fit online challenge, maybe a Hula-Hoop contest. Want to join?
    Also – I am a big emotional eater from wayyyyy back. I recently discovered a book called the Beck Diet Solution, which basically looks at weight loss from a purely psychological angle (my Achilles heel). I totally recommend!!

    I also have a personal trainer and agree that the accountability factor is huge. GOOD FOR YOU for noticing the patterns. Great first step, now keep going!!!

  2. Sandwiched says:

    I’ve read (and own) the Beck Diet Solution. Good stuff. But a similar book that resonated with me even more is The Four-Day Win: End Your Diet War and Achieve Thinner Peace by Martha Beck. It has a much more light-hearted and personal feel to it, but rock-solid information, too.

    I’m interested in a Wii Fit challenge. There’s some good info here, though I haven’t sorted through all of it yet.

    Thanks for the comment!

  3. jen says:

    I have never read that Beck book but you are about the third person to mention itk

    I am glad you are back on the bandwagon. Do what you can when you can and don’t beat yourself up!! A little bit of movement is better than none.

    Good luck!

  4. Riayn says:

    The WiiFit is a fantastic way to get back into exercise and increase your fitness levels.

    Best of luck at your WW meeting tonight and having a succesful diet/exercise week next week.

  5. Sandwiched says:

    Thanks. My goal this time around is just to STICK WITH IT and not beat myself up. The beating myself up part contributed to me regaining all the weight this last time around. I’ve only lost about 15 lbs since May, which normally would’ve been a license to quit, but I’ve been there and done that, and it got me nowhere. Fast.

    I still look better in pics now than I did a year ago!

    I’m low-key this time around. 🙂

  6. Schmiddy says:

    Great post – I also think starting over is key, because we will ALL slip from time to time. Be proud of yourself and get back up on the horse again! You can do it!

  7. catnip35 says:

    We are so on the same wavelength. The Wii Fit is definitely helping me keep my motivation up this time around.

Leave a Reply

