WFMW: Peeling garlic

wfmw

I was making homemade chicken stock yesterday, and in a bit of a hurry (as usual). The recipe called for 2 garlic cloves, peeled, but all I had were about 6 teeny tiny ones. I started rubbing them with a jar opener. Works fine for one or two, but 6?

I reached back into my file cabinet of a brain, and remembered something I’d read in one of the last Rachael Ray magazines: peel garlic by putting it inside two stainless steel bowls and shaking it. Hmmm…worth a shot. I grabbed the bowls, put the garlic in, and handed them to Little Sis to shake.

Voila! By the time she was bored, I had 4 peeled cloves, and two almost-peeled cloves (the skin fell off almost as soon as I touched it). Worked like a charm. Thanks, Rach!

By the way, speaking of garlic, my favorite garlic press is the one made by Pampered Chef. You don’t have to peel the garlic before you put it in. Squeeze and go. Love that thing!

For more great ideas, check out Works for Me Wednesday at Rocks in my Dryer and Things I Love Thursday.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Things I Love Thursday, Uncategorized, Works for Me Wednesday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to WFMW: Peeling garlic

  1. Suz says:

    Thanks for the tip. I just started using fresh garlic… what a difference! Love it!

    I’ve seen them do it on TV where they lay a clove on their cutting board and smash it & the peel comes right off and you’re ready to chop it.

  2. Suz says:

    oops… messed up my web address on the last one.

  3. Janet F says:

    I am going to try this the next time I cook with garlic, thanks!

  4. sharon says:

    Wow. I’d never heard of that method of peeling garlic. I’ll have to try that out soon. And by the way, I am right there with you on the garlic press — I love the Pampered Chef garlic press.

  5. Kristin says:

    Wow–I’ve never heard of that. I think I’ll have to try it to believe it! lol I usually just press on it with the flat side of a knife and the pell comes off easily that way. Oh, and I *love* my garlic press, too!

Leave a Reply

