Smooth sailing

Since Mom’s gotten out of the hospital about a week and a half ago, it’s been pretty smooth sailing. I took her to her follow-up doctor’s appointment on Thursday. It was about 6 degrees out, and the office was about half an hour away. Mom went in and came out about 15 minutes later.

“He said I shouldn’t have come out in this weather,” Mom reported.

“Are you KIDDING me?” I replied. We had already pushed back the appointment that morning due to a 2-hour school delay. You might think someone could’ve mentioned it THEN. I only planned my whole DAY around this appointment.

Mom used to take the bus (provided by the apartment building) to her doctors’ appointments, but after she tripped on the steps once and got a huge scrape on her shin (which became infected and put her in the hospital for two weeks), she and I became a bit gun-shy. She did try a few times after that, but she found that she had to wait about an hour to be picked up. So my arm got twisted.

It’s not so bad, though. It’s only a couple of times a month, one of which is a visit to the kidney clinic. It’s a nice routine: pick up Little Sis from school and Mom from her place, and head over to the clinic at the local hospital. Little Sis and I hang in the (empty) waiting room and watch Dora, then we all go out to lunch. Then I drop Mom at hme and have time to pick up Big Sis at the bus stop. It’s a comfortable schedule, and I know I have enough time to get everyone where they need to be without rushing.

Another comfortable routine we’ve settled into is seeing Mom on Sundays. Sometimes we have lunch at the dining room at her place, sometimes I cook dinner (either at my place or hers), or sometimes, like last night, we go out to eat. We ended up at the local Chinese place at Mom’s suggestion.

It’s great that, to some degree anyway, things have turned out the way I envisioned them. We’ve managed to enfold Mom into our lives, and I think we’re all better off for it.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Sandwich Generation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Smooth sailing

  1. Fat Too Fit says:

    I think it is awesome that you have been able to incorporate mom into your lives/schedule. This is a blessing. I am happy to hear that mom is doing better.

    Have a great evening.

Leave a Reply

