It’s pneumonia.

So here’s the update. I’ll make it quick, ’cause I’m sleepy.

Saturday morning, Mom calls, saying “I think I have pneumonia.” She’s short of breath. I make a few calls, hit WebMD, and finally get to speak to the doc on call from Mom’s doctors’ office. Told him I googled her symptoms (all but one on the WebMD checklist) and it sounds like pneumonia. He agrees.

Hi, ho…hi ho. Off to the ER we go.

After I pack myself a bag. And take a quiz for my online class. And email my instructor.

Then I head to Mom’s. Get her dressed, packed, and fed. The tuna sandwich I made her was the only significant meal she’d had in two days. I wash her dishes and empty her trash, because it could be days before anyone comes back (learned that the LAST time mom went to the ER).

Several hours later, we leave the apartment. She needs to sit (on her fancy new walker that has a seat) before she gets to the end of the hallway.

Cut to the ER. We breeze through (relatively speaking), and after a chest x-ray, a doc declares it to be pneumonia.

So Mom was admitted, and she’s been there ever since. I stayed with her until about 9 pm that night. The whole family visited on Sunday afternoon, and Big Sis and I stopped by tonight for a while. Seems they’re waiting for her lungs to clear before they release her.

That’s all I got tonight. Peace out.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s pneumonia.

  1. Susan says:

    Wow, amazing that she diagnosed herSELF. I hope it resolves soon…

  2. I wish the best for a speedy recovery for your mom! Keep us posted on how she (and you) are doing!

  3. Hope that she is feeling better soon! 🙂

  4. Joe says:

    Give her my best and well wishes

Leave a Reply

