The Dawn of a New Day

I remember watching online in January 2007 as Barack Obama announced his candidacy for president of the United States. I was so excited. I had never been so excited about a political candidate before. He seemed to have such a good head on his shoulders. And he seemed such a good leader, so charismatic. But I also remember thinking that if he chose not to run because of the effect on his family, well, I could completely respect that. His girls are about three years older than mine, and I could not imagine putting my kids through the stress of a presidential campaign.

Thank goodness, the man chose to throw his hat into the ring. Hope began to swell in America’s breast. I volunteered for and donated to his campaign, for the first and only time in my life. And to make a very long story short, Barack Obama beat the odds and won the election.

And America will never be the same.

God bless America…and may God bless President Obama.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in politics, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Dawn of a New Day

  1. Agreed. The world is waiting with anticipation. May God allow him to fulfil his role with dignity and wisdom for us all.

Leave a Reply

