WFMW: BBQ Pulled Pork

wfmw

Here’s a great go-to dinner idea. It’s great for (nearly) effortlessly feeding your family or a crowd. So easy, I’m ashamed of myself (You Can’t Do That on Television [0:48 sec]? Anyone?).

Take a 3 lb pork roast (I’ve used pork loin, pork tenderloin, or the best yet, Boston Butt pork shoulder). Put in crock-pot on low for 8 hours. Remove and reserve juices (I use a turkey baster for this). Shred meat with two forks, removing any bones. Add one bottle of your favorite BBQ sauce (we love Sweet Baby Ray’s-large Sam’s Club size bottle) and stir into shredded pork. Add back meat juices until desired consistency (I actually use the meat juices to rinse the BBQ sauce bottle) and stir. Serve on hamburger rolls. Adding sliced pickles knocks it out of the park, IMHO.

It also freezes very well, which is important because it makes A LOT. I’ve also been entertaining the idea of making a BBQ pizza with it, but haven’t yet. Also been meaning to try replacing the pork with chicken.

For more great ideas, check out Rocks in my Dryer!

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized, Works for Me Wednesday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to WFMW: BBQ Pulled Pork

  1. Nessie says:

    I have done this with leftover chicken and it is great. We had a lot of chicken left over from a party that went into the freezer. This was by far the easiest way to use it up. But adding enough sauce to make the meat moist made it too spicy for the kiddos. When that happened, I use chicken stock to add moisture to the meat without adding more spice.

  2. momofnine says:

    We love barbecued pulled pork sandwiches and this recipe looks nice and easy. Thanks!

  3. Kaye says:

    I love buying pulled pork for my salads at my favorite BBQ place. It’s quite a ways away and pretty pricy as well. I was thrilled to read this recipe. I’m going to give it a try SOON! 🙂 Thanks for sharing it.

  4. debbie says:

    Gosh, don’t be ashamed. Sounds great. Good tip.

  5. Bookmarked this last week and made it tonight– yum! And way easier than making my own sauce from scratch…

Leave a Reply

