What’s that beeping?!?

Well, Thanksgiving went better than expected. Maybe because I lowered my standards. Cooking went smoothly. I gave up on brining the turkey and just roasted it according to guidelines in The Food Network Magazine. Mashed me up some potatoes and put them in the crock-pot to free up oven space. Used my MIL’s recipe for a streusel-topped sweet potato souffle, and made up some Stove Top stuffing. My sister did the green bean casserole, and my MIL provided pumpkin bread and pumpkin pie. There was also a dutch apple pie from Eat N Park for my mom, who is on a renal diet and can’t have pumpkin. We also mashed up some cauliflower for her as a potato replacement. Cleanup was quick (thanks especially to my sister!) and relatively painless. Saved the turkey carcass to make Alton Brown’s chicken (or in this case, turkey) stock.

For entertainment, we had the Wii, plus Madagascar from Netflix. Then Friday afternoon we took the crew to see Madagascar 2. We came in late, so 8 of us (including 2 seniors) are stumbling through the dark to find seats during the opening credits. Not 5 minutes later, my in-laws’ cell phone rings. My MIL can’t figure out what to do with it, so she passes it to my FIL. He answers on the fifth ring. I’m cringing already. He answers in a normal speaking voice, not even attempting to whisper. “What?” he asks. The movie soundtrack hits a silent spot just as he hollers into the phone, “I THINK YOU HAVE A WRONG NUMBER!” The ENTIRE THEATER shushed him. I sunk into my seat.

Overall, everyone got along well, and the running joke became “What’s that beeping?” Add 3 senior citizens to the chaos of kids, cooking and cleaning and they get a little confused. They can’t seem to tell the beeping of the clothes dryer from the beeping of the coffee pot from the beeping of a text message from the beeping of a timer from the beeping of an incoming email. I don’t know why. 🙂

Now the last houseguests have left, and we’re spending the morning cleaning and decorating. It’s nice to have the day to ourselves. I’m thankful for that.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Recipes, Sandwich Generation, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What’s that beeping?!?

  1. sandysays1 says:

    Good retrospective of T-Day. Amazing though how little things can go unnoticed. See my post, “As Time and Thanksgiving Go By.” Visit me at:
    http://www.SandySays1.wordpress.com

  2. Kaye says:

    Great story. I could so relate! I especially enjoyed the movie part. 😀 It gave me a good laugh which I truly appreciated! Have a peaceful weekend.

  3. Susan says:

    Funny story. My mother could not handle a cell phone of ANY KIND in a million years. She can barely deal with a cordless land-line phone.

  4. I made the mistake of seeing Twilight on Friday with family friends. I sat next to their 12 year old cousin, who would ask me when the scary parts were coming so he could cover his eyes. He also covered his eyes for the kissing scenes which I found hysterical. The rest of the 13 year olds in the audience were not so cute. I’ll leave it at that.

  5. Nessie says:

    Love the new theme, but I miss the quote. It summed things up so well.

  6. Sandwiched says:

    Nessie-

    Thanks for catching it! I didn’t have much time to proof it and didn’t realize my tagline disappeared. I’ve popped it into a widget in the right-hand column. Better?

  7. Nessie says:

    Yes! Without it it seems like the blog of someone who loves Dagwood sandwiches. Which would be fine, but you don’t strike me as THAT person, but perhaps Mr. Hoagie?

Leave a Reply

