WFMW: Banana Boats

wfmw

Okay, I have to admit, this idea isn’t original. I got it from my friend Gretchen when she hosted a playdate a few years ago. But it’s so good, we’re still using it!

One of our favorite kid snacks is Banana Boats. They’re tasty, healthy and so easy! And did I mention kids (oh, okay…and every grown-up who’s ever tried them) love ’em?

Take a banana and cut it in half width-wise (is that a word?). Then halve each half again lengthwise so you have 4 pieces of banana, each with a flat side and a rounded side.

Top the flat side of each with a layer of peanut butter. Top that with granola (our favorite is Cascadian Farm). Serve.

I was planning to take pictures of my lovely creations, which I made for an after-school snack today, but they literally got snarfed down by Big Sis before I even got the camera out. Oops.

I’ll post pics when I can. Until then, enjoy!

For more great ideas, check out Works for me Wednesday at Rocks in my Dryer.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Recipes, Sandwich Generation, Works for Me Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WFMW: Banana Boats

  1. one of my favorite snacks when I was little was just like that, except we used raisins instead of granola! They’re also fun for kids to help make!

  2. Nessie says:

    One of my sons camping books has a recipe called banana boats but, it is a campfire treat. Leaving the skin on , split the whole banana lengthwise, but only cut through one side of the skin, so you end up with a banana “hot dog buns.” Fill the banana with marshmallow, nuts, or what ever you think goes with banana, wrap it all in foil and toss it in the hot coals for 10-15 min. I would sub, peanut butter for the marshmallows and try it in the oven first. So, banana boat, hot, banana boat cold, you pick.

Leave a Reply

