No thank you, Thanksgiving

It’s nine days until Thanksgiving. It sounds like a lot of time.

But I feel it closing in.

I was talking with Mom this morning about Thanksgiving. We’re having her, of course. My sister is coming in, as well as Mr. Hoagie’s brother and parents.

We didn’t exactly issue invitations…actually, I’m not really sure how we ended up hosting. If it’d been up to me (which it wasn’t), it’d be a VERY low key Thanksgiving.

My sister’s coming in this Friday so that she can watch the kids so Mr. Hoagie and I can celebrate an early anniversary (it’s November 30th). She’s great…the only family member who helps me keep my sanity.

My sister coming in early has been planned for months. Originally Mr. Hoagie and I planned a weekend trip to Vegas, but we couldn’t find affordable airfare. Now nothing’s planned. A bed & breakfast? Maybe a 4 star downtown hotel via Priceline? Who knows. Maybe just dinner & a movie at this rate if we’re lucky.

My brother-in-law is flying in Tuesday night, and my in-laws are arriving Wednesday. Mr. Hoagie’s parents, remembering an overcrowded Thanksgiving two years ago, wisely opted for a hotel. They’re planning to take the girls for a sleepover there for a night or two.

So no one will be able to bring a dish. I might get some kitchen help, but I’m lousy at delegating. And the last few Thanksgivings, I mashed my own potatoes, brined my own turkey and baked rolls from scratch. No pressure, right?

I’m fantasizing about ordering the whole thing from HoneyBaked Ham, but I think too many people would be disappointed and/or offended.

I’m so not in the mood for Thanksgiving.

Today, anyway.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Sandwich Generation, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No thank you, Thanksgiving

  1. catnip35 says:

    Have you looked into ordering the sides from your local grocery store? Mine is doing an everything but the turkey plan that looks pretty decent and not so expensive. Then you can do the turkey yourself and not worry about the rest? We did a Honeybaked ham for Christmas last year and were very disappointed.

  2. Sandwiched says:

    I’ve considered it…our grocery store has a good gourmet deli.

    We do a HoneyBaked ham almost every year for Easter and love it! Sorry you got a clunker.

  3. Nessie says:

    I gotta say if others are inviting themselves over I would feel less than guilty about getting some sort of help. I know you are stressed, but you’ve got a family who makes an effort do things together. RIght now, I’m a bit bummed because my mom won’t come two blocks to have dinner at my house, but doesn’t want us to come over there either.

  4. airingdirtylaundry says:

    Personally, I have no problem with Honeybaked Ham (or other) stuff ordered and then put in your own serving dishes. I may or may not have done so myself in the past.

    We’ve been looking at flights to Vegas too for Thansgiving. We did it last year and had an awesome time. I had Chinese food for Thanksgiving dinner . . .awesome. If we do decide to go, we’re going to have to hit the lottery first in order to buy our plane tickets, so I guess I have to come to grips with the idea of staying here . . .sigh.

Leave a Reply

