The Book Meme: Page 56, Nearest Book

The rules for this meme thing are :

  • Grab the nearest book.
  • Open it to page 56.
  • Find the fifth sentence.
  • Post the text of the sentence in your journal along with these instructions.
  • Don’t dig for your favorite book, the cool book, or the intellectual one: pick the CLOSEST.

My book is A Walk in the Woods: Rediscovering America on the Appalachian Trail by Bill Bryson. I just finished it late last night and it’s in a pile of books to return to the library.

The fifth sentence on page 56 of A Walk in the Woods is “The sun was shining.”

Which totally doesn’t capture the spirit of the book, so let’s try this one, two sentences earlier: “Peggy had almost persuaded him to persevere, to try for just another week, but in the end he had broken down and wept quietly and asked from the heart to be let go home.”

I’m now supposed to ask 3 bloggers that I know of to do the same:

Jump in if you want to, and leave a link with your comment. Enjoy!

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in books, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Book Meme: Page 56, Nearest Book

  1. Jan Tallent says:

    hi, thanks for visiting my blog and inviting me to join yours! My book is “Will work for fun” by Alan R. Bechtold. Fifth sentence on page 56:

    “The point is to identify your caricature-istics (not your characteristics).”

    What he means is the traits that are most immediately memorable about you and will immediately resonate with the most people.

    Alan is @BBPRESS on twitter

  2. Phil Sharp says:

    Hey, this is fun! Have you read “A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson? It’s one of my favorite books. Anyway, do you have any book recommendations for me? I’m going to be reading a book a week for the next year (which is quite unlike me). I’d appreciate any suggestions. Thanks!

    http://www.fourbooksamonth.wordpress.com

  3. Sandwiched says:

    Hi Phil! I haven’t read “A Short History of Nearly Everything” yet, but it’s on my list. As for book recommendations…wow. The list is too long. What genre? Check me out on GoodReads, I’ve marked up a ton of stuff there: http://www.goodreads.com/review/list/822082

    Good luck with Crime and Punishment. I haven’t read it yet myself….

  4. Phil Sharp says:

    Thanks for the information about http://www.goodreads.com. Believe it or not, I’d never heard of it before. I’ll definitely sign up now.

  5. Nessie says:

    Here is mine! This is my first meme. Let me know if I’m doin’ it right! 🙂

    http://raremonsters.wordpress.com/2008/11/17/tag-im-it-the-book-meme-page-56-nearest-book/

  6. Nessie says:

    BTW, ” A Walk in the Woods” is one of my all time favorites! Glad you had a chance to read it. I was watching a Bryson interview last night where Bryson said that Katz was not mad about anything in the book because he saw it as fiction, despite the fact that he agrees everything in the book was true. “It’s just the way you tell it.” he said.

Leave a Reply

