What I Know For Sure

An open letter to myself:

Dear Sandwiched,

As you may know, you’ve been a bit erratic lately with your health. Stops and starts, beginnings that peter out, vows to yourself that are left broken and crushed, taking your psyche along for the ride.

Guess what? I just finished working out for the 3rd day in a row, and I feel great! I have energy, I can think more clearly and plan better. It’s amazing what you can accomplish when you don’t have to spend half the day beating yourself up for not working out and eating right.

What I know for sure: you need to find a way to exercise every day, because it’s all downhill from here. At 35, you’re no spring chicken. Remember that old knee injury from high school? Of course you do. Sometimes it aches before it rains. And the wrist injury from not watching your form while working out with that trainer? Still aches when I type. Oh, and then there’s that bursitis diagnosis from when your shoulder decided to try to help with the wrist thing because you didn’t take it seriously enough the first time.

And guess what I just ate? An apple. Just because I was hungry after my workout and it looked good. This from a girl who usually struggles to eat any fruits or vegetables all day. And then I ate some grapes, a few slices of orange, and an entire grapefruit. Weird, huh?

It might even be good for me.

And if you’re still not sure, take a good look at Chiquita: Miss Overweight, Coronary-Artery-Disease, Heart-Attack, Kidney-Failure, Needs-a-Walker, Can’t-Play-With-Her-Grandkids. That could be you in 35 more years.

Or not.

Suck it up, whiner. Get your ass in gear, girl.

Or else.

Cordially,

Sandwiched (the one that makes HEALTHY choices!)

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Sandwich Generation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I Know For Sure

  1. Regan says:

    A-men! I hear ya!

Leave a Reply

