I’m back.

Sorry I’ve been gone so long, gentle readers. (All three of you.) I really have no excuses for not posting other than life getting in the way.

Oh yeah. That, and Twitter.

If you’re really wondering what I’m up to, check my Twitter feed. I find it much easier to commit to writing 140 characters at a time versus writing a cohesive blog post.

I’m addicted. If you find a 12-step program for Twitter addicts, send me the link, willya?

Today I played chauffeur to my mom for an appointment on the other side of Pittsburgh. I had a rough idea where I was going, thanks to Mapquest, but it still took us well over an hour to get there.

I was up at 6:30 am to wake up Big Sis to do her homework (which she had neglected the night before because she was too busy playing outside). Got everyone ready to go, then went to leave for Mom’s at 8:30 am. Went to grab my keys, and…

No keys.

Tried to retrace my steps. Hadn’t driven the day before, so…where were they?

Ransacked the house for 10 minutes looking for my keys, only to find them in my backpack. On my back. Right where I’d put them 15 minutes earlier.

Sad.

Left the house, drove to Mom’s. Went to her apartment. Collected her, walker and all. Walked her most of the way to the entrance, then jogged ahead to pull up my car to the entrance.

I opened the door for Mom, and she informed me that she needed an emergency bathroom break.

Aaaargh!

About 25 minutes later, we pulled out.

An hour and ten minutes and three wrong turns later, we found our destination. The entire way, Mom read out signs. Every 15 seconds.

“Dry cleaning. Hmmm!”

“Car wash…huh.”

Chinese Wok Garden…I wonder if it’s good?”

Every 15 SECONDS. For an HOUR and TEN MINUTES!

But once I hit unfamiliar territory, believe it or not, all of a sudden Mom’s eyesight is too crappy to read the frigging STREET SIGNS!

No help.

The rest of the day passed without too much drama. Unless you count the near-Amber Alert for one of the neighbor kids.

But that’s a post for another day.*

*Not really. The kid was found in his backyard a few minutes later.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Sandwich Generation, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m back.

  1. sarahcook11 says:

    I am a twitter addict, too. And to think that a few months ago, I had never even heard of twitter! 🙂

  2. susan says:

    ooooh, my mom does that too!

Leave a Reply

