Five Point Friday: Turkey Meatloaf

I got this recipe from a friend of mine who used to belong to my gym. Long story short, she and I had the same hellish personal trainer who insisted on clean eating. So she invented this recipe.

It is possible to lower the Points values a bit by substituting ground turkey breast, an egg white, or low-sugar ketchup. I also happened to have some fresh parsley and basil on hand, so I chopped it and threw it in, too.

I made a HUGE batch of it yesterday (x5), so I made 4 mini loaves and 44 meatballs. (I set the time for 30 minutes and checked for doneness frequently after that). We ate one mini loaf for dinner, threw a second in the fridge, and #3 and 4 got frozen. I froze 22 meatballs in each of two ziptop freezer bags for future dinners (probably spaghetti & meatballs).

My Amazing Turkey Meatloaf

My Amazing Turkey Meatloaf

Turkey Meatloaf

  • 1 lb. ground turkey
  • 1/2 c. oatmeal, ground in food processor
  • 1 T. Italian spices
  • 1 T. garlic powder
  • 1/3 c. (one small) chopped onion
  • 2 T. ketchup
  • 1 large egg

Mix all in large bowl. Bake at 350° in loaf pans (I used my Pampered Chef stoneware mini-loaf pan) for 40-45 minutes or until done. If desired, drizzle additional ketchup over top and bake for an additional 5-10 minutes.

Yield: 5 servings at 5 Points each

Thanks to Mel at A Box of Chocolates for hosting this carnival! Stop by for more great 5 Point recipes.

UPDATE: Thanks to my friend M. for pointing out that I’d forgotten to include the baking temperature, and that the bake time was WAAAAY off. I’ve corrected those above.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Five Point Friday, Sandwich Generation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five Point Friday: Turkey Meatloaf

  1. Mel says:

    I love meatloaf, but couldn’t find a low fat recipe that I liked. I do use turkey whenever I can and actually am starting to like it better. I think I’ll give this recipe a shot this week. By the way I love the idea of using mini loaf pans and then freezing some along with meatballs. That sounds like a great idea! Thanks for playing along with my 5 point Friday!!

Leave a Reply

