Everybody in the house

Big Sis had Open House at her school tonight. It was great to go see her classrooms and her teacher, but…

O.M.G.

It was SO crowded!

Of course it was crowded. Every kid in the school was there, most of them with their parents, siblings, and grandparents. At least.

It was standing-room-only in her second-grade classroom (Where Little Sis pulled on my arm and clung to her father’s leg. So classy.).

It was shoulder to shoulder in the “cafetorium,” where they had a book fair set up. Daddy waited in the line (3/4 the length of the basketball court) while I shopped.

And it was so crowded over by the bake sale tables that people’s body heat melted the chocolate chips in the donated cookies.

Ewww.

And, weirdly, someone stopped me in the hall to ask me if I was Chiquita’s daughter. That threw me for a loop, until I figured out that it was one of the aides that helps my mom out three days a week.

Add to that all the running rugrats, skipping siblings, chatty moms, distracted dads….

You know that feeling that comes over you when things are just too busy? There’s too much to see, hear…someone’s pulling on you, someone else waving at you, and all you can hear is “MommyMommyMommy?”

I reached my Maximum Sensory Input.

Initiate system shutdown.

At that moment, we were headed toward the bake sale line, and I’d had enough. Mostly of my own kids, at that point. So I shoved Little Sis’ drink into my husband’s hand, and headed off to the book fair, where it was about 15% less crowded.

Ahhh.

Meanwhile, Little Sis had spotted her best friend (who’s a neighbor and the younger sister of a girl in Big Sis’ class). Apparently my husband had given Little Sis permission to hang with their family while we were at the book fair.

Granted, we were only about 50 feet away, but it WAS crowded (have I mentioned that?) and our neighbor was there singlehandedly juggling his own three kids. Plus our four-year-old.

I looked over at my husband. “Ummm…maybe that wasn’t the best idea.”

So off we went to scoop her up and, I hoped, leave.

No such luck.

Big Sis still wanted to show us the art and music classrooms.

But Little Sis wanted to wait for our neighbors. Who were still eating bake sale goodies. At least, the ones who weren’t running pell-mell across the cafetorium stage.

Oh, wait. There goes Little Sis. Pell-mell.

Aaarrggh!

Eventually, we got out of there…after a backstage tour with a double stroller, 20 minutes scribbling with crayons in the art room, and unauthorized breaking and entering into the music room.

By the time we got home, I had HAD it.

All in all, a much nicer visit than years past. Really!

I attribute it to my happy pills. Better living through chemistry!

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Sandwich Generation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

