Catching up

Oh, the lazy days of summer are drawing to a close. Big Sis starts second grade on Monday, and Little Sis starts 4-year-old preschool on Wednesday. We went to orientations for both kids last night.

Mom kept the girls all afternoon and evening. Originally I’d planned to drop them with her for an hour while I got a haircut, and then leave the kids with a sitter during the evening while their dad and I went to their schools. Then my sitter cancelled with a fever, so Mom got to keep them. We stopped by the library to pick up some DVDs. I dropped them off with Mom, took Mom’s urine sample to the lab (ahhh…lovely), got my hair cut, stopped at the grocery store to pick up dinner, then took it back and cooked it for Mom and the kids. Off to the orientations, then back to pick up the kids quick so I could make it to my book club.

There’s no such thing as “quick” when dealing with my mother these days.

I got there, and the toys were picked up (since I had called ahead), but I still had to put away leftovers and do all the dinner dishes. I didn’t even leave mom’s (with her trash in hand) until twenty minutes after I was supposed to be at book club.

(For the record, yes, my husband COULD have been the one to pick them up, but I try to ensure he has as little contact as possible with her. It’s the only way our situation will work. Also, he wouldn’t have done the dishes.)

So I showed up at book club half an hour late, to find only one other member there. Four of the six of us were expected, but only Nessie and I made it.

No matter. We sat and talked for three hours. It was lovely.

And a great way to end the day.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Sandwich Generation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

