I just want peace…

I’m playing a bit of catch-up today. Still recovering from my recent stressiness (is that a word?) and trying to slow things down. Haven’t talked to Mom today; I had Big Sis call her from the car on our way to tumbling class this morning. Afterwards, I tried to reach her about 4 times to discuss lunch plans, and couldn’t find her. So the girls and I came home for lunch (I wanted sushi, they didn’t…so there).

Thought about calling, but I just want some peace to myself. That sounds selfish, huh?

And let’s play the what-if game:

  1. What if she fell and she’s on the floor and can’t get up?
  2. What if she had a heart attack?
  3. What if she needs help and can’t reach me?

Okay, I’ve succeeded in freaking myself out now. She hasn’t called me all afternoon, which is a little weird. But she often takes a nap this time of day….

Okay, fine.

I’ll call.

UPDATE: Chiquita’s fine. She was napping. In the bathroom when I called this morning, apparently.

About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.
This entry was posted in Family, Sandwich Generation, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I just want peace…

  1. Beq says:

    Okay, you are no longer allowed to play the “What if…” game with Chiquita [or your children when they hit their teens]. There is nothing more you can do for Chiquita. It’s time to rest and have peace. I’m huge on letting go of worry and ‘what if’ mind games because in the end it only hurts the thinker. I don’t usually push, but I can see you’re burning out.

    Learn and grow from this. This pattern of stress-thinking will repeat again and again until you change behaviors. Know that your stressful thoughts are hurting you and only you – racing stress hormones through your body!

    Here’s what Jesus would tell you in the softest, most loving voice that would melt your heart:
    Matthew 6:17
    Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?

    Reminder to stop the cycle of worry:
    Philippians 4:6
    Do not worry about anything, instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need and thank him for all he has done.

    Gives me reminder to rest in Him:
    Romans 3:22
    We are made right with God by placing our faith in Jesus Christ. And this is true for everyone who believes, no matter who we are.

Leave a Reply

